Adam Fox Named 2019 Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick Finalist

Adam Fox Named 2019 Hobey Baker Award Hat Trick Finalist

Junior defenseman Adam Fox is Harvard's ninth Hobey Hat Trick finalist in program history.

Junior defenseman Adam Fox has been selected as one of three finalists for the 2019 Hobey Baker Memorial Award, it was announced today (April 4). This marks the ninth time in program history and the fourth time in the last five seasons that Harvard has had a Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist.

Fox joins Cale Makar of UMass and Jimmy Schuldt of St. Cloud State as finalists for college hockey's highest honor.

A native of Jericho, N.Y., Fox (nine goals, 39 assists) had a historic season for Harvard as one of the top blue liners in the nation. The 2019 Walter Brown Award winner, ECAC Hockey Player of the Year, ECAC Hockey First Team and Ivy League Player of the Year selection, Fox is currently the top scoring player and defenseman (per game) in the country with 1.45 points per game. An Academic All-Ivy selection, Fox broke the school record for points by a Harvard defenseman in one season, set by Mark Fusco '83, who had 46 points (13-33-46) in 1982-83.

This season, Fox became the fourth defenseman in Harvard history to reach 100 career points, joining Fusco (135 points), Mark Benning '87 (111 points), and Randy Taylor '87 (102 points). He is the first junior defenseman in college hockey to reach 100 points since Justin Schultz (Wisconsin) in 2011-12.

Off the ice, Fox participated in Boston Marathon Jimmy Fund Walk as part of Team Brave Livy to bring awareness to children with cancer. He has also been a part of team community initiatives, including the One Summit Skate in January, as players skated with children fighting cancer at Bright-Landry Hockey Center.

The winner of the 2019 Hobey Baker Award will be announced live from HarborCenter in Buffalo, N.Y. on April 12 in a nationally televised show beginning at 6 p.m. on NHL Network.

Harvard Hobey Hat Trick Finalists 
1983 - Mark Fusco (won)
1985 - Scott Fusco
1986 - Scott Fusco (won)
1987 - Lane MacDonald
1989 - Lane MacDonald (won)
2015 - Jimmy Vesey
2016 - Jimmy Vesey (won)
2018 - Ryan Donato
2019 - Adam Fox

Adam Fox: 2019 Hobey Baker Award Candidate