Adam Fox Named Winner of 67th Walter Brown Award

Adam Fox Named Winner of 67th Walter Brown Award

Junior defenseman Adam Fox is Harvard's 13th Walter Brown Award winner.

BOSTON, Mass --
Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president Cheryl Schoenfeld announced today that Harvard University junior defenseman Adam Fox (Jericho, NY)  is the winner of the 67th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Fox leads the Crimson in scoring with nine goals and 39 assists for 48 points in 32 games. A deft playmaker, puck carrier, and on-ice leader, he also topped all scorers in ECAC Hockey this year with 33 points in 22 games. Harvard finished fourth in the conference and will face Massachusetts in the NCAA Tournament quarterfinal round on Friday, March 30 (3 p.m.) in Manchester, NH.

The other finalists for the 2019 Walter Brown Award were UMass–Amherst senior forward Jacob Pritchard, (Macomb, MI) and Quinnipiac junior goalie Andrew Shortridge, (Anchorage, AK).  

Fox played for the Long Island Gulls and the United States National Development Program before matriculating at Harvard. He twice represented the United States in World Junior Tournament play. He was a semifinalist for the 2016 Walter Brown Award and is a finalist for the 2019 Hobey Baker Award.

"This is the first time that we've had a forward, a defenseman and a goalie as our three finalists for the Walter Brown Award," commented committee chairman Tim Costello, "And for the second year in a row, our winner's name is Adam." Northeastern forward Adam Gaudette, the 2018 winner, now plays for the Vancouver Canucks of the National Hockey League.

The nation's oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, where the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game. The formal presentation of the award will take place at the New England College Hockey Writers' Dinner in Saugus, MA on April 17. 

Harvard's Walter Brown Award Winners
1955     Bill Cleary         
1957     Bob Cleary         
1958     Bob Cleary       
1962     Dave Grannis
1971     Joe Cavanagh
1972     Bob McManama
1983     Mark Fusco
1986     Scott Fusco
1989     Lane MacDonald
2005     Dov Grumet-Morris 
2015     Jimmy Vesey
2016     Jimmy Vesey
2019     Adam Fox