Adam Fox Named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year

Zach Webster / Harvard Athletics
Zach Webster / Harvard Athletics

Junior defenseman Adam Fox is Harvard's fourth selection in the last five years for ECAC Hockey Player of the Year.

Junior defenseman Adam Fox was named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year, the conference announced today. This marks the fourth time in the last five seasons that a Harvard player has been selected for ECAC Hockey's highest honor.

Fox (nine goals, 37 assists), a Hobey Baker Award Top 10 finalist, a unanimous ECAC Hockey First Team selection, and Ivy League Player of the Year honoree, is having a historically great season as one of the top blue liners in the nation. He is the top scoring player and defenseman (per game) in the country with 1.48 points per game. Fox also leads the nation with an average of 1.19 assists per contest, and is tops in ECAC Hockey with a plus-24 rating. This past weekend Fox tied the school record for points by a Harvard defenseman in one season, set by Mark Fusco '83, who had 46 points (13-33-46) in 1982-83. He has a chance to become the first defenseman in Division 1 college hockey to reach 50 points since Brendan Smith (Wisconsin) had 52 points in 2009-10.

A native of Jericho, N.Y., Fox became the fourth defenseman in Harvard history to reach 100 career points, joining Fusco (135 points), Mark Benning '87 (111 points), and Randy Taylor '87 (102 points). He is the first junior defenseman in college hockey to reach 100 points since Justin Schultz (Wisconsin) in 2011-12. He is playing his best hockey of late, with 19 points (two goals, 17 assists) in his last 10 games.

Harvard will take on Clarkson tomorrow night (March 22, 7:30 pm) in a ECAC Hockey semifinal contest at Herb Brooks Arena in Lake Placid, N.Y. The game will air on ESPN+. 

Harvard ECAC Hockey Player of the Year Selections
2019 - Adam Fox

2018 - Ryan Donato
2016 - Jimmy Vesey
2015 - Jimmy Vesey
1994 - Steve Martins
1993 - Ted Drury
1991 - Peter Ciavaglia
1989 - Lane McDonald
1986 - Scott Fusco
1985 - Scott Fusco
1974 - Randy Roth