Former Men's Ice Hockey Standout Scott Fusco Inducted Into Beanpot Hockey Hall of Fame

Photo courtesy of Brent Greenberg
Photo courtesy of Brent Greenberg

Scott Fusco '86, who is the Crimson's all-time scoring leader, is the newest member of the Beanpot Hall of Fame. 

BOSTON, MA (January 28, 2019) - Harvard University forward Scott Fusco '86, who is the Crimson's all-time scoring leader with 240 points (107 goals, 133 assists) is the newest member of the Beanpot Hall of Fame. Fusco is the 13th former member of the Crimson men's ice hockey program to join the 59-member Hall of Fame.

A native of Burlington, Mass., Fusco won the Hobey Baker Award in 1986, college hockey's highest honor after being named a finalist for the award in 1985. He was named a first team All-American in both 1985 and 1986 and is the only Harvard player to be named ECAC Hockey Player of the Year twice (in 1985 and 1986) and the third in ECAC Hockey history. 

Fusco is a four-time first team All-Ivy and three-time first team All-ECAC Hockey selection.  He captured the Ivy League scoring title during his freshman. junior, and senior seasons and led ECAC Hockey in scoring both as a junior and a senior.  His 81 points (34 goals, 47 assists) in 1984-85 is second all-time in school history for points in a season.  

Fusco was a member of Team USA during both the 1984 and 1988 Winter Olympics. After graduating from Harvard with a degree in economics, he joined brother Mark Fusco '83 - a Hobey Baker Award winner and Beanpot Hall of Fame inductee - as a founder and Sr. Vice President of Software Quality Partners, a large regional IT consulting company. He was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2002. In 2007, Fusco founded the Edge Sports Center and the East Coast Wizards junior hockey organization, based in Bedford, Mass.

His daughter Bradley Fusco is a senior on the 2018-19 Harvard women's ice hockey team. 

Beanpot Hall of Fame Inductees From Harvard
1995 – Joe Cavanagh '71                               
1995 – Bill Cleary '56   
1996 – Gene Kinasewich '64     
1997 – Mark Fusco '83
1999 – Ralph "Cooney" Weiland             
2000 – Randy Roth '75
2002 – Walter Greeley '53
2004 – Bob Bland '62 
2010 – Fran Toland
2011 – Bob McManama '73
2014 – Lane McDonald '88-89
2017 – Wade Lau '82   
2019 – Scott Fusco '86