Five Harvard Men's Hockey Alumni on NHL Opening Night Rosters

Five Harvard Men's Hockey Alumni on NHL Opening Night Rosters

Alex Biega, Ryan Donato (above), Alexander Kerfoot, Alex Killorn, and Jimmy Vesey will represent Harvard at the NHL level.

Leading all Ivy League programs, Harvard men's ice hockey has five players on opening night rosters to start the 2018-19 NHL season. The five players at the highest level of men's hockey are among the 20 Harvard Men's Hockey alumni in the professional ranks to start the season.

Alex Biega (Vancouver), Ryan Donato (Boston), Alexander Kerfoot (Colorado), Alex Killorn (Tampa Bay), and Jimmy Vesey (New York Rangers) will represent Harvard at the NHL level.

Biega is a fifth-year defenseman for the Vancouver Canucks, who has two goals and 18 assists in 138 career NHL games. Donato enters his first full season at the NHL level for the Bruins.  Last year the forward scored five goals and had four assists in 12 appearances for Boston. Kerfoot, a second year forward for the Colorado Avalanche, had 43 points (19 goals, 24 assists) in 79 games as a breakout rookie for the Avs. Killorn is the longest-tenured NHL player in the group. Entering his seventh season with the Tampa Bay Lightning, Killorn has recorded 87 goals and 134 assists in 435 games. Vesey enters his third season with the New York Rangers, having played in 159 of 164 possible games at the pro level. The 2016 Hobey Baker Award winner has 33 goals and 22 assists in two seasons.

Harvard Hockey in the Pros
Clay Anderson '17 l Milton Keynes Lightning (EIHL)
Desmond Bergin '16 l Adirondack Thunder (ECHL)
Alex Biega '10 l Vancouver Canucks (NHL)
Colin Blackwell '16 l Milwaukee Admirals (AHL)
Kyle Criscuolo '16 l Rochester Americans (AHL)
Ryan Donato l Boston Bruins (NHL)
Max Everson '15 l HC Bolzano (EBEL)
Luke Esposito '17 l Bakersfield Condors (AHL)
Danny Fick '14 l Wheeling Nailers (ECHL)
Brian Hart l Dundee Stars (EIHL)
Jake Horton '18 l Springfield Thunderbirds (AHL)
Alexander Kerfoot '17 l Colorado Avalanche (NHL)
Alex Killorn '12 l Tampa Bay Lightning (NHL)
Merrick Madsen '18 l Norfolk Admirals (ECHL)
Sean Malone '17 l Rochester Americans (AHL)
Patrick McNally '15 l Eispiraten Crimmitschau (DEL2)
Steve Michalek l EC Salzburg (EBEL)
Tyler Moy '17 l Atlanta Gladiators (ECHL)
Wiley Sherman '18 l Providence Bruins (AHL)
Jimmy Vesey '16 l  New York Rangers (NHL)