Men's Ice Hockey Honors 2017-18 Team at Banquet; Floodstrand, Zerter-Gossage Named Captains

Men's Ice Hockey Honors 2017-18 Team at Banquet; Floodstrand, Zerter-Gossage Named Captains

Lewis Zerter-Gossage and Michael Floodstrand were named captains of the 2018-19 Harvard hockey team.

BOSTON, Mass. –
The Harvard men's ice hockey program gathered at the Harvard Club of Boston on Thursday night to honor the 2017-18 team and the Harvard hockey class of 2018.

Harvard (15-14-4, 11-8-3 ECAC Hockey) made its fourth consecutive trip to Lake Placid and the ECAC semifinals, becoming the third conference team in the last decade to accomplish that feat. The Harvard Hockey class of 2018 had 83 wins in four seasons at Harvard, surpassing the most wins for a senior group since the class of '06 had 82, and the most in the last 20 years of any senior class at Harvard.

In addition to honoring this year's seniors and handing out team awards the Crimson named its 2018-19 captains. Rising seniors Michael Floodstrand and Lewis Zerter-Gossage were elected by their teammates at the 131st and 132nd captains in the 120-year history of Harvard hockey.

Seniors Thomas Aiken and Jake Horton received the Ralph "Cooney" Weiland Award presented to the member or members of the Harvard varsity hockey team whose devotion to the game has repeatedly been evidenced by aggressive and spirited play and by selfless contribution to the total team effort representative of "Cooney's type of hockey player." Horton was one of Harvard's top two-way forwards this season, recording 13 points (four goals, nine assists) and playing in all situations for the Crimson. An incredibly hard worker on the ice and in the classroom, Aiken was a steady presence on the blue line during his four-year career at Harvard, always the last one off the ice at practice or volunteering his time at community events, including the One Summit Skate and the Jimmy Fund Walk.

Junior Ryan Donato was awarded the John Tudor Memorial Cup, awarded annually to the most valuable member of the Harvard hockey team, determined not by ability alone, but by the qualities of sportsmanship, leadership and team cooperation. Donato (26 goals, 17 assists) was named a Hobey Baker Hat Trick finalist and the ECAC Hockey Player of the Year after an outstanding season as one of the nation's best players. Donato earned First Team All-America honors, and ECAC Hockey First Team honors.

Sophomore forward Ty Pelton-Byce earned the Donald Angier Hockey Trophy, given annually to the player showing the greatest general improvement during the year. Mr. Angier was a member of the Harvard hockey team in 1920, 1921 and 1922 and kept a keen and continued interest in the sport. Pelton-Byce recorded 25 points (10 goals, 15 assists), was plus-3, and finished the season with 13 points in his last 11 games.

Freshman Jack Badini earned the George Percy Award, which is given to a member or members of the freshman class for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, team spirit and loyalty. Badini earned ECAC Hockey All-Rookie Team honors after recording 17 points (10 goals, seven assists) in 33 games.