Men’s Hockey Celebrates Banner Season at Banquet Tuesday Night

Jake Horton, Merrick Madsen and Eddie Ellis will serve as the 2017-18 captains of the Crimson (Athletic Communications).
Jake Horton, Merrick Madsen and Eddie Ellis will serve as the 2017-18 captains of the Crimson (Athletic Communications).


BOSTON – The Harvard men's hockey team, coaches, staff and Friends of Harvard Hockey convened at the Harvard Club of Boston Tuesday night to celebrate the accomplishments of the 2016-17 season.

Among the list of achievements this season, the Crimson reached the NCAA Frozen Four for the first time since 1994, won the NCAA East Region, secured the ECAC Hockey Tournament title and were co-champions during the regular season, won the Ivy League outright for the first time since 2006 and won its first Beanpot since 1993. Harvard was unbeaten at the Bright-Landry Hockey Center for the first time since 1993-94, had a program-record unbeaten streak of 18 games and its 28 total wins was the most since 1988-89. Its .806 winning percentage (28-6-2) was tops in the nation, as was its 1.92 scoring margin. The seniors of the class of 2017 also leave Harvard winners of 78 games, the most since the class of 2006 recorded 82. Harvard's seniors also combined for 193 points this season, the most in the nation.

In addition to handing out the end of the year team awards, the Crimson named its 2017-18 captains. For the first time in program history, the Crimson will have tri-captains, as rising seniors Jake Horton, Eddie Ellis and Merrick Madsen were all elected by their teammates to lead the team next year. They represent the 128th, 129th and 130th captains in the 119-year history of Harvard hockey. Madsen is the first Harvard goaltender to don the 'C' since John Hynes '80, during the 1979-80 season.

During the awards portion of the evening, seniors Luke Esposito and Devin Tringale received the Ralph "Cooney" Weiland Award presented to the member or members of the Harvard varsity hockey team whose devotion to the game has repeatedly been evidenced by aggressive and spirited play and by selfless contribution to the total team effort representative of "Cooney's type of hockey player." Esposito posted career-highs with 16 goals, 20 assists and 36 points this year. He also led the team with a +31 rating and was named to the NCAA East Region all-tournament team. Tringale served as the co-captain this season, scoring three goals and registering six points.

Senior Alexander Kerfoot was awarded the John Tudor Memorial Cup, awarded annually to the most valuable member of the Harvard hockey team, determined not by ability alone, but by the qualities of sportsmanship, leadership and team cooperation. Kerfoot, a co-captain, tied for the team lead with 45 points on 16 goals and 29 assists. He was a Hobey Baker Award Top-10 finalist, as well as an All-ECAC Hockey and All-Ivy League first team selection.

Sophomore defenseman Jacob Olson was recognized with the Donald Angier Hockey Trophy, given annually to the player showing the greatest general improvement during the year. Mr. Angier was a member of the Harvard hockey team in 1920, 1921 and 1922 and kept a keen and continued interest in the sport. Olson skated in 35 games on Harvard's blue line this season, posting a +12 rating with one goal and five assists.

The freshman duo of Adam Fox and Nathan Krusko were co-recipients of the George Percy Award which is given to a member or members of the freshman class for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, team spirit and loyalty. Krusko finished his rookie campaign with nine goals and eight assists and was named the Beanpot MVP. Fox led the Crimson with 34 assists this season, while also scoring six times. His stellar play earned him first team CCM/AHCA All-America honors, to go with his ECAC Hockey and Ivy League Rookie of the Year awards. The New England Hockey Writers recognized him as the Bob Mohanan Award winner as the top defenseman in New England.