Fox, Kerfoot and Donato Receive Yearly Honors from The New England Hockey Writers

Fox, Kerfoot and Donato Receive Yearly Honors from The New England Hockey Writers

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Three members of the Harvard men's hockey team were honored by the New England Hockey Writers Friday with year-end awards. Freshman Adam Fox received the Bob Monahan Award as the best defenseman, Ted Donato '91 received the Clark Hodder Award for Division I Coach of the Year and senior Alexander Kerfoot joined Fox on the All-Star team as a forward.

Fox, a native of Jericho, N.Y., emerged as a top-tier offensive defenseman, racking up six goals and 33 assists in 34 games en route to an appearance in the Frozen Four. From Nov. 26 to Jan. 7, he collected two goals and nine assists in only five games. His heroic two-point showing in the Beanpot final helped Harvard pick up its first Beanpot championship since 1993. His 1.15 points per game mark leads all defensemen in the nation. He was previously selected as the ECAC Hockey and Ivy League Rookie of the Year.

Donato secured the Clark Hodder Award as New England's Division I Coach of the Year after leading the Crimson to its first Beanpot title since 1993 and second ECAC tournament championship in the last three seasons. Donato's squad made its third straight appearance in the NCAA tournament in 2016-17 as the top seed in the East Regional. The Crimson enters next week's Frozen Four with a 28-5-2 overall record and on an 18-game unbeaten streak (17-0-1), the longest in program history. Donato was previously recognized as the Ivy League Coach of the Year and is a current finalist for the Spencer Penrose Award, honoring the CCM/AHCA Division I Coach of the Year.

Kerfoot adds the New England All-Star honor to his growing list of accolades. The senior co-captain was an All-ECAC Hockey first team selection, as well as a Hobey Baker Award Top-10 finalist and Senior CLASS Award finalist. He is tied for the team-lead this season with 44 points. His 1.26 point per game mark ranks him 14th in the country. His leadership on and off the ice has helped drive the Crimson to a 28-5-2 overall record, the most wins since the 1988-89 season (31) and the fewest losses in Division I college hockey.

All of the New England Hockey Writers All-Stars will be honored at a banquet held on Tuesday, April 11 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The banquet will start at 6 p.m. All awards and All-Star teams will be presented at the gala. All coaches, student-athletes, family members and friends are encouraged to attend Tuesday's banquet. Please contact Geoff Dion at (781) 245-2122 or by email at for information on attending this event. Cost is $40 per person.

Harvard is preparing to face Minnesota-Duluth Thursday, April 6 in the Frozen Four at the United Center in Chicago. Visit the Tournament Central page for all the details.

2016-17 New England Division I All-Stars
Collin Delia, Jr., Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. (Merrimack)
Jake Oettiner, Fr., Lakeville, Minn. (Boston University)

Adam Fox, Fr., Jericho, N.Y. (Harvard)

Charlie McAvoy, So., Long Beach, N.Y., (Boston University)
Jake Walman, Jr. Toronto, Ontario (Providence)
Dylan Zink, Sr., Madison, Wis. (UMass Lowell)

Zach Aston-Reese, Sr., Staten Island, N.Y. (Northeastern)
Joe Gambardella, Sr., Staten Island, N.Y. (UMass Lowell)
Tyler Kelleher, Sr., Longmeadow, Mass. (New Hampshire)
Clayton Keller, Fr., Swansea, Ill., (Boston University)
Alexander Kerfoot, Sr., West Vancouver, British Columbia (Harvard)
Dylan Sikura, Jr., Aurora, Ontario (Northeastern)