Madsen Named to the Mike Richter Watch List for 2016-17

Madsen Named to the Mike Richter Watch List for 2016-17

Madsen was a nominee for the Mike Richter Award last year (John Crouch).

CHANHASSEN, Minn. – Junior goaltender Merrick Madsen has been named to the Mike Richter Award Watch List, as announced by Let's Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation Friday, October 7.

Madsen is one of 20 netminders nationally selected to the watch list for the award that recognizes college hockey's top goalie each season. Madsen was honored as a nominee last season, after finishing eighth in the nation in save percentage (.931), 10th in win percentage (.696) and shutouts (four) and 14th in goals-against (2.00). His career .930 save percentage was the third-best among active NCAA Division I goalies to begin the 2016-17 season.

The Mike Richter Award was first given out in 2014. In addition to Madsen, Steve Michalek '15 (2015) has also been a nominee for the award. Past winners of the award are Thatcher Demko (2016-Boston College), Zane McIntyre (2015-North Dakota) and Connor Hellebuyck (2014-UMass Lowell).

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award will be determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men's hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media. The winner is announced at the Frozen Four.

In alphabetical order, the goalies on the watch list for the 2017 Mike Richter Award are:

Name                             School                                Year
Paul Berrafato #         Holy Cross                          Junior
Michael Bitzer             Bemidji State                     Junior
Gordon Defiel              Lake Superior State         Junior
Parker Gahagen          Army West Point              Senior
Mitch Gillam #             Cornell                                Junior
Kyle Hayton #              St. Lawrence                     Junior
Cole Huggins               Minnesota State              Senior
Tanner Jaillet               Denver                                Junior
Cam Johnson *            North Dakota                    Junior
Merrick Madsen #      Harvard                              Junior
Chris Nell #                   Bowling Green                  Junior
Cal Petersen #             Notre Dame                      Junior
Colton Phinney            Princeton                            Senior
Ryan Ruck #                 Northeastern                    Sophomore
Eric Schierhorn #         Minnesota                         Sophomore
Alex Sakellaropoulos  Union                                   Senior
Shane Starrett             Air Force                             Sophomore
Atte Tolvanen              Northern Michigan          Sophomore
Drew Vogler                Merrimack                         Sophomore
Evan Weninger #        Omaha                                Sophomore 

* 2016 Mike Richter Award finalist                      
# 2016 Mike Richter Award nominee