Vesey Nabs Hobey Hat Trick Finalist Honor for Second Straight Year

Vesey Nabs Hobey Hat Trick Finalist Honor for Second Straight Year


MINNEAPOLIS - Harvard senior forward Jimmy Vesey has been selected as a Hobey Hat Trick Finalist for the second year in a row, as announced by the Hobey Baker Award committee Thursday, March 31.

Vesey becomes the first Harvard skater to be named a Hat Trick Finalist twice in his career since the organization began recognizing a top three in 2002. In 2015, Vesey became the ninth Harvard player to be recognized as a top-10 finalist and first since goaltender Dov Grumet-Morris in 2005.

Joining Vesey as a Hobey Hat Trick finalists are Michigan freshman forward Kyle Connor and Boston College junior goaltender Thatcher Demko.

Vesey is looking to become the fourth Hobey Baker Award winner in program history and first since Lane MacDonald captured the award in 1989. MacDonald, and brothers Mark (1983) and Scott Fusco (1986) are the only three Hobey Baker winners from Harvard and current member schools of the ECAC. MacDonald and Scott Fusco are the only two other Harvard players to be named a finalist twice in their careers.

The Hobey Hat Trick selection adds to a long list of accolades the North Reading, Massachusetts native has earned during his Crimson career. Late last week, Vesey was honored as the Walter Brown Award winner for the second consecutive season, honoring New England's best American-born Division I college hockey player. He is also a two-time Player of the Year in the ECAC and the Ivy League, as well as being selected as a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

Statistically, Vesey led the ECAC in goals (17) and points (32) in conference games. His 15 assists trailed only linemate Alexander Kerfoot. His 0.73 goals per game mark ranks fourth nationally, while his 1.39 points per contest average is seventh.

Vesey leaves Harvard as one of the most prolific scorers in program history. He is one of just five players to don the Crimson sweater to score 80 goals in their career, while his 144 points is tied for 12th all-time with Ted Donato '91, the current Robert D. Ziff '88 Head Coach for Harvard Men's Ice Hockey.

The three finalists were selected from the initial list of Top 10 candidates by the 27-member selection committee and an additional round of online fan balloting to determine this year's Hobey Baker winner. Criteria for the award includes: displaying outstanding skills in all phases of the game, strength of character on and off the ice, sportsmanship and scholastic achievements.

The Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced Friday, April 8, 2016 from Tampa, Florida during the NCAA Frozen Four. The award announcement will take place at the historic Tampa Theatre, built in 1926 as one of America's most elaborate movie palaces. The announcement will be televised live on the NHL Network and can be followed on the Hobey Baker website at 6:00 p.m.