Vesey Named Ivy League Player of the Year; Five Selected All-Ivy

Vesey Named Ivy League Player of the Year; Five Selected All-Ivy

Jimmy Vesey is just the third two-time Ivy League Player of the Year ever (Gil Talbot).

PRINCETON, N.J. – For the second consecutive year, senior forward Jimmy Vesey has been honored as the Ivy League Player of the Year, as announced by the conference office Thursday, March 3. Vesey is also one of five Harvard players to earn All-Ivy honors. Linemates Kyle Criscuolo and Alexander Kerfoot, as well as Desmond Bergin were named to the second team, while goaltender Merrick Madsen garnered honorable mention.

Vesey is just the second Ancient Eight skater to be named Ivy Player of the Year two years in a row, joining former Harvard Hobey Baker winner Scott Fusco '86 who won the award in 1985 and 1986. Vesey, Fusco and Yale's Jeff Hamilton (1999, 2001) are the only three players in conference history to ever win the award twice, with Hamilton doing it in 1999 and 2001.

Over 10 Ivy games this season, Vesey posted a league-best 17 points and nine goals. His eight assists were second only to Kerfoot. Vesey, Kerfoot and Harvard junior Tyler Moy were three of the five players in the league to reach 10 points against the rest of the Ivy League. For Vesey, he recorded multiple points in six of 10 Ivy contests and posted a plus/minus of +11, leading Harvard to a 7-1-2 mark and a share of the Ivy League Championship. Back in November, he netted the game-winners against Brown and Princeton. Over his career, Vesey has been a two-time first team selection, a second team choice as a sophomore and the Rookie of the Year in 2012-13.

Criscuolo's selection to the All-Ivy League second team is his second in as many seasons. Against the Ivy League this year, Criscuolo has five goals and eight points, which are tied for fourth and sixth, respectively, in the league. A +7 player through Ivy games, Criscuolo notched the game-winners on the road at Cornell (Jan. 23) and Brown (Feb. 5). Criscuolo and Vesey were both candidates for the Senior CLASS Award this season, as well as semifinalists for the Walter Brown Award.

Kerfoot proved to be the ultimate set-up man for his linemates all year, racking up 28 total assists and 12 in the Ivy League, four more than the next player. In earning his first All-Ivy League recognition, Kerfoot finished second in the Ancient Eight with 14 points. He tallied at least two points in five of 10 games and finished with a +9 mark. His 28 assists and 32 total points are both new career bests.

Bergin is an All-Ivy selection for the second year in a row after earning honorable mention at the end of last season. A starter on the top defensive pairing every game this year, Bergin was integral in the Harvard defense tying for a league-lead 1.50 GAA. Bergin finished the season with seven assists, with one of those coming in a 3-0 win at Princeton Nov. 14. He blocked 21 shots in 10 league games and 49 all year.

Madsen, a nominee for the Mike Richter Award, had a breakout year in net for the Crimson. The sophomore played in eight Ivy League games, posting a 6-1-1 record. His 1.37 GAA and .950 save percentage were second only to first team selection Alex Lyon of Yale. Of Madsen's four shutouts this year, two came against Ivy foes in Dartmouth (Oct. 31) and Princeton (Nov. 14). His 38 saves against the Tigers was tied for his season-high.

Jimmy Vesey, Harvard (Sr., F - North Reading, Mass.)  

*Joe Snively, Yale (Fr., F - Herndon, Va.) 

Keith Allain, Yale 

Nick Lappin, Brown (Sr., F - Geneva, Ill.)
Jack Barre, Dartmouth (Sr., F - Fairfield, Conn.)
*Jimmy Vesey, Harvard (Sr., F - North Reading, Mass.)
Stu Wilson, Yale (Sr., F - Pittsford, N.Y.)
Reece Wilcox, Cornell (Sr., D - Surrey, British Columbia, Canada)
*Rob O'Gara, Yale (Sr., D - Nesconset, N.Y.)
*Alex Lyon, Yale (Jr., G - Baudette, Minn.) 

Mark Naclerio, Brown (Sr., F - Milford, Conn.)
Kyle Criscuolo, Harvard (Sr., F - Southampton, N.J.)
Alexander Kerfoot, Harvard (Jr., F - West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada)
Max Gottlieb, Brown (Fr., D - Old Bridge, N.J.)
Desmond Bergin, Harvard (Sr., D - Natick, Mass.)
Ryan Obuchowski, Yale (Sr., D - West Bloomfield, Mich.)
Colton Phinney, Princeton (Jr., G - Chatham, N.J.)

Brett Patterson, Dartmouth (Sr., F/D - Eden Prairie, Minn.)
John Hayden, Yale (Jr., F - Greenwich, Conn.)
Joe Snively, Yale (Fr., F - Herndon, Va.)
Mitch Witek, Yale (Sr., D - Downers Grove, Ill.)
Merrick Madsen, Harvard (So., G - Acton, Calif.) 

*Unanimous Selection
^Teams expanded due to ties in voting