Danny Biega Named 120th Captain of Harvard Men’s Hockey

Donato presented Biega with his jersey, complete with the captain's "C."

BOSTON—Danny Biega will captain the Harvard men's hockey team in 2012-13 and Alex Killorn has been named the Crimson's 2011-12 most valuable player, head coach Ted Donato '91 announced at the team's annual awards banquet Wednesday night at the Harvard Club of Boston.

Donato, the Robert D. Ziff '88 Head Coach for Harvard Men's Ice Hockey, named Killorn the winner of the John Tudor Memorial Cup and announced David Valek as the winner of the Ralph "Cooney" Weiland Award for devotion to the game. Raphael Girard earned the Donald Angier Hockey Trophy as the Crimson's most improved player, and Patrick McNally was selected for the George Percy Award as Harvard's top rookie.

Biega, a first-team All-America defenseman as a junior in 2011-12, was called on to lead the Crimson three seasons after older brother Alex Biega '10 captained the team. They are the second set of brothers to captain the Crimson, joining Steve Moore '01 and Dominic Moore '03, each of whom captained Harvard as a senior.

Also an All-New England, first-team All-ECAC Hockey, unanimous first-team All-Ivy League and ECAC Hockey Championship All-Tournament selection, Biega ranked second nationally among defensemen this season with 1.03 points per game on 10 goals and 25 assists. He was named ECAC Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman and was the runner-up for ECAC Hockey Player of the Year.

Killorn, now playing for the Norfolk Admirals of the American Hockey League, led Harvard with 23 goals and 46 points this season. He was the nation's third-leading goal-scorer with 0.68 per game and fifth-leading point-scorer with 1.35 per contest. Killorn was also an All-New England, first-team All-ECAC Hockey, unanimous first-team All-Ivy League and ECAC Hockey Championship All-Tournament pick.

Valek received the award named for former Harvard coach and Hockey Hall of Famer Cooney Weiland and honoring a player "whose devotion to the game has repeatedly been evidenced by aggressive and spirited play and by selfless contribution to the total team effort." The junior played through injury all season, skating in all 34 games. He was a strong defensive forward, leading Harvard forwards with 47 blocked shots, and emerged as an offensive force late in the season, scoring seven of his nine goals over the final team's seven games.

McNally was presented the Percy Award by fellow defenseman and 2006 winner Brian McCafferty '09. McNally registered 28 points, ranking in the nation's top 10 among freshman and among defensemen in points per game. Only one freshman defenseman in the country scored at a higher rate. An ECAC Hockey All-League third-team and All-Rookie selection, McNally was a key part of the Harvard's top power-play unit, which led the nation in man-advantage efficiency.

Andy Janfaza '88 was on hand to award the Angier Trophy to Girard. The sophomore goaltender came on strong late in the season, guiding Harvard to a 6-2-2 record in his final 10 appearances. He ranked fifth nationally with a .933 save percentage and lowered his goals-against average in each of his final seven starts to finish at 2.14, the 12th-lowest mark in the nation. In the playoffs, Girard posted a 1.81 goals-against average and league-high .947 save percentage.

Harvard finished the season ranked 18th in the national poll after finishing second in the ECAC Hockey Championship and third in the ECAC regular-season standings with an 8-5-9 league record. The Crimson was 13-10-11 overall, setting an NCAA record for ties in a season.