Best Defensive Defenseman Biega Among Four Harvard Players Honored by ECAC

Harvard's ECAC honorees (left to right): Killorn, Biega, Michalek and McNally.
Harvard's ECAC honorees (left to right): Killorn, Biega, Michalek and McNally.

ATLANTIC CITY, N.J.—Junior Danny Biega and senior Alex Killorn of the Harvard men's hockey team were named to the ECAC Hockey All-League first team and Biega was recognized with the league's Best Defensive Defenseman award Thursday night at the ECAC Hockey awards banquet, held at the Atlantic City Convention Center.

Patrick McNally's third-team selection gave the Crimson three all-league picks. He was also named to the ECAC Hockey All-Rookie Team, along with fellow freshman Steve Michalek. Harvard earned three all-league selections for the first time since 2003-04, placed two players on the first team for the first time since 2002-03 and had two all-rookie honorees for the first time since 1997-98.

Biega, one of three finalists for ECAC Best Defensive Defenseman, was also a finalist for the ECAC Hockey Player of the Year Award. A standout on both ends of the ice, the Montreal native led all defensemen with eight goals and 23 points in league play and was on the ice for just nine even-strength goals scored by Crimson league opponents. He mans the point on the Harvard power-play unit—the top-rated man-advantage group in the country—and led the league with 14 power-play points in ECAC games.

An ECAC second-team pick last year and preseason all-league selection this season, Biega ranks second nationally among defensemen with 1.06 points per game, thanks to his 10 overall goals and 34 total points in 32 games. He leads Harvard with a +12 rating and was a team-high +10 in league play. He and Killorn were both unanimously named to the All-Ivy League first team.

Killorn leads Harvard with 20 goals and 42 points, including 10 goals and 14 assists in 22 league games to rank fifth in ECAC Hockey with 24 league points. The center from Montreal was twice named ECAC Hockey Player of the Week during the season. He ranks 11th nationally with 1.31 points per game and eighth with 0.62 goals per contest.

McNally led ECAC freshman defensemen with 15 points on four goals and 11 assists in league play. That point total tied him for fourth place among all defensemen and fifth among all freshmen. The Glen Head, N.Y., native has five goals and 21 assists for 26 points overall to rank second in the nation among rookie defensemen and seventh among all defensemen with 0.81 points per game.

McNally was also a finalist for ECAC Hockey of the Year, and Crimson coach Ted Donato '91 was a finalist for the Tim Taylor Award given to the ECAC Hockey coach of the year.

Michalek, the youngest goaltender in the nation, has started 22 games in goal for the Crimson, the third-highest total ever by a Crimson rookie. He made 30 or more saves in half of those starts. The Glastonbury, Conn., native started 16 of Harvard's 22 league games, helping lead the Crimson to a third-place ECAC finish with a 2.77 goals-against average and .906 save percentage against league opponents.

The Crimson (12-9-11, 8-5-9 ECAC Hockey), ranked 19th nationally and seeded third in the ECAC Hockey Championship, will meet 13th-ranked, second-seeded Cornell in Friday's league semifinals. The winner will advance to Saturday's final. Tickets are available at

ECAC Hockey All-League First Team
F – Alex Killorn, Harvard
F – Brian O'Neill, Yale
F – Austin Smith, Colgate
D – Danny Biega, Harvard
D – Mat Bodie, Union
G – Troy Grosenick, Union 

ECAC Hockey All-League Second Team
F – Jack Maclellan, Brown
F – Chris Wagner, Colgate
F – Jeremy Welsh, Union
D – Nick D'Agostino, Cornell
D – Michael Sdao, Princeton
G – Andy Iles, Cornell 

ECAC Hockey All-League Third Team
F – Connor Jones, Quinnipiac
F – Kyle Flanagan, St. Lawrence
F – Kelly Zajac, Union
D – Thomas Larkin, Colgate
D – Patrick McNally, Harvard
G – Paul Karpowich, Clarkson 

ECAC Hockey All-Rookie Team
F – Matthew Peca, Quinnipiac
F – Brian Ferlin, Cornell
F – Chris Martin, St. Lawrence
D – Patrick McNally, Harvard
D – Shayne Gostisbehere, Union
G – Steve Michalek, Harvard 

ECAC Hockey Player of the Year
Austin Smith, Colgate 

Ken Dryden Award (ECAC Hockey Goaltender of the Year)
Troy Grosenick, Union 

ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year
Brian Ferlin, Cornell

Tim Taylor Award (ECAC Hockey Coach of the Year)
Rick Bennett, Union

ECAC Hockey Best Defensive Defenseman
Danny Biega, Harvard

ECAC Hockey Best Defensive Forward
Kelly Zajac, Union