Patrick McNally Named ECAC Rookie of the Year Finalist

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Freshman Patrick McNally of the Harvard men’s hockey team has been named one of three finalists for the ECAC Hockey Rookie of the Year award, the league office announced Friday.

Joining McNally as finalists for the honor are Cornell’s Brian Ferlin and Matthew Peca of Quinnipiac. The winner will be announced at the league’s awards banquet March 15 in Atlantic City, N.J. The finalists and winner were selected by voting by the 12 ECAC Hockey head coaches.

McNally led ECAC freshman defensemen with 15 points on four goals and 11 assists in league play. That point total tied him for fourth place among all defensemen and fifth among all freshmen. He has five goals and 17 assists for 22 points overall to rank second in the nation among rookie defensemen with 0.76 points per game.

The Glen Head, N.Y., native and Vancouver Canucks draft pick helped Harvard hold 15 of its final 16 league opponents to three goals or fewer, limit eight of the final 13 to two goals or fewer and rank fourth in ECAC Hockey in scoring defense. McNally is also a key player on league’s top power play, which ranks second nationally and led the nation for most of the regular season.

This is the third ECAC award nomination for the Crimson. Ted Donato ’91, the Robert D. Ziff ’88 Head Coach for Harvard Men’s Ice Hockey, is a finalist for the Tim Taylor Award, given to the ECAC coach of the year. Danny Biega is a finalist for the Best Defensive Defenseman award.

The third-seeded Crimson (10-8-11, 8-5-9 ECAC Hockey) and sixth-seeded Yale will face off in a best-of-three ECAC Hockey Championship quarterfinal series this weekend at Bright Hockey Center. Tickets are available here.