Ryan Grimshaw to Captain Harvard Men’s Hockey in 2011-12

Ryan Grimshaw to Captain Harvard Men’s Hockey in 2011-12

Right: Captains Moriarty, Grimshaw and Killorn with head coach Ted Donato
Bottom: The Crimson seniors with honorary teammate Nathan Potvin

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Ryan Grimshaw was tabbed as the 119th captain of Harvard men's hockey and fellow defenseman Danny Biega was awarded the John Tudor Memorial Cup as the Crimson's most valuable player at the squad's year-end awards brunch Saturday morning at the Harvard Club of Boston.

Alex Killorn and Daniel Moriarty were named assistant captains for next year's squad, while Michael Del Mauro, Brendan Rempel and Dan Ford were all honored for their play this season. The event also honored four years of contributions from the Harvard men's hockey Class of 2011: Del Mauro, Chris Huxley, Kyle Richter, Michael Biega, Ryan Carroll, Matt McCollem and Pier-Olivier Michaud.

The banquet program included a look back at the year from Ted Donato'91, the Robert D. Ziff '88 Head Coach for Harvard Men's Ice Hockey, as well as a season highlight video. Each of the seniors received a gift and shared some remarks on the season.

Grimshaw will follow Del Mauro and Huxley, who captained the 2010-11 Crimson. The Rochester, N.Y., native has been a staple on the Harvard blue line for each of the last three seasons, skating in 87 games. He has been a strong defensive player while adding 18 points on four goals and 14 assists on the offensive end.

Killorn and Moriarty will wear the "A" on their jerseys a year after Richter held that honor. Both forwards have been key contributors at even strength and on the power play over the course of their three seasons. Killorn led Harvard with 15 goals and ranked second on the team with 29 points this season, earning selection to the All-Ivy League second team. He has 63 points on 30 goals and 33 assists in 96 career games, while Moriarty has 36 points on 15 goals and 21 assists in 78 games.

Danny Biega earned All-New England, All-ECAC Hockey and All-Ivy League honors in a season that saw him become the first defenseman since Mark Fusco '83 in 1981-82 to lead Harvard in scoring. The Montreal native registered 30 points on 11 goals and 19 assists, including a league-best nine goals and 21 points in ECAC play, while playing outstanding defense and finishing with a +2 rating.

Del Mauro was the recipient of the Ralph "Cooney" Weiland Award, named after the former Harvard coach and Hockey Hall of Famer and honoring a player "whose devotion to the game has repeatedly been evidenced by aggressive and spirited play and by selfless contribution to the total team effort." Along with Huxley, Del Mauro led the Crimson on a late-season surge with eight wins in a nine-game span. He scored five goals on the season, including the tie-breaking tally in the final minutes to lift the Crimson to a 5-4 win against No. 15 Boston University at the Beanpot.

Rempel earned the Donald Angier Hockey Trophy as the Crimson's most improved player. The sophomore defenseman skated in 26 games after appearing in just 10 as a rookie. He provided three assists and some of the team's most memorable hits.

Ford received the George Percy Award as Harvard's top rookie. The only freshman and one of just eight total players to skate in every game this season, Ford registered nine points on a goal and eight assists. His eight points in league play tied him for third among ECAC defensemen.