Danny Biega Gets All-New England Men's Hockey Nod

Danny Biega Gets All-New England Men's Hockey Nod

Biega led Harvard with 19 assists (photo courtesy Steve Babineau).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Harvard’s Danny Biega has been named to the New England Hockey Writers Division I All-Star team, the NEHW announced Wednesday.

Biega led all Eastern defensemen with 11 goals this season and ranked second among New England defensemen with 30 points. He led ECAC Hockey defensemen in league points (21), goals (nine), game-winning goals (three) and shorthanded goals (one). He ranked second in assists (12), power-play goals (five) and power-play points (11).

The sophomore was previously named to the All-Ivy League first team and ECAC Hockey all-league second team.

The Montreal native was one of four defensemen and 12 total players named to the All-New England squad. The All-New England selections and award-winners will be honored at the annual NEHW awards banquet Wednesday, April 13 at the Prince Restaurant in Saugus, Mass. The event will start at 6 p.m.

Biega is one of just two defensemen in the nation to lead his team in scoring and the only one to lead in scoring and rank among his team’s top three in plus/minus. He scored or assisted on 39 percent of Harvard’s goals this season, the highest percentage of any defenseman in the country.

2010-11 New England Men’s Division I All-Stars
John Muse, Sr. (Boston College)
Ryan Rondeau, Sr. (Yale)

Danny Biega, So. (Harvard)
Brian Dumoulin, So. (Boston College)
Blake Kessel, Jr. (New Hampshire)
Karl Stollery, Jr. (Merrimack)

Cam Atkinson, Jr. (Boston College)
Stephane Da Costa, So. (Merrimack)
Andrew Miller, So. (Yale)
Gustav Nyquist, Jr. (Maine)
Brian O’Neill, So. (Yale)
Paul Thompson, Sr. (New Hampshire)