David Johnston '63 Among Final ECAC Hockey Top-50 Honorees

David Johnston '63 Among Final ECAC Hockey Top-50 Honorees

Previous honorees:
Joe Cavanagh '71 | Mark Fusco '83 
Scott Fusco '85-86 | Gene Kinasewich '64
Lane MacDonald '88-89

ALBANY, N.Y.—Two-time All-America defenseman David Johnston ’63 is among the final installment of players named to the list of the top 50 players in ECAC Hockey history, the league has announced.

As part of its 50th-anniversary celebration, ECAC Hockey has compiled a group of its top 50 players to recognize the storied history of the league and honor its significant players. The league released the 10th installment of five honorees Wednesday. The top 50 players were determined by a selection committee made up of former coaches and media members, who selected the honorees from 145 nominees (47 defensemen, 73 forwards, 25 goaltenders).

Johnston is the sixth Harvard player named to the list. Hobey Baker Memorial Award winners Mark Fusco ’83, Scott Fusco’85-86 and Lane MacDonald ’88-89; three-time All-American Joe Cavanagh ’71 and three-time all-league pick Gene Kinasewich ’64 were previously selected.

The 10th segment of honorees is: Johnston; two-time All-America goaltender Bruce Bullock of Clarkson; Gordie Clark, a three-time all-league forward for New Hampshire; Cornell defenseman Bruce Pattison, a part of three league-championship teams, and Herb Wakabayashi, a forward from Boston University who represented Japan at the 1972 Winter Olympics.

At Harvard, Johnston earned first-team All-America, All-Ivy League and All-ECAC selections in both 1961-62 and 1962-63. He led the Crimson to records of 21-3-2 overall, 17-3-2 in the ECAC and 9-0-1 in the Ivy League en route to ECAC and Ivy championships in 1962-63. Harvard won the Ivy title in each of his three years as a letterwinner, posting a combined record of 27-1-2 in Ancient Eight play.

Johnston was the recipient of the John Tudor Memorial Cup as the team’s most valuable player for 1962-63, despite not scoring a goal during the season. His assist on the winning goal by Kinasewich in overtime of the 1963 ECAC championship game was his 25th of the season, a Harvard defenseman record at the time.

A native of Sudbury, Ont., Johnston currently serves as Canada’s governor general.

All current and former teams’ impactful players were reviewed in comprising the list of candidates for the special team. Five players from the top 50 all-time team will be released every two weeks throughout the season leading up the league championship semifinals and final March 18-19 in Atlantic City, N.J.

The top 50 players were determined by a vote of a selection committee of 10 individuals: Joe Bertagna ’73, former student-athlete at Harvard, former hockey commissioner of the ECAC and current commissioner of Hockey East; Ed Carpenter, former sports information director at Boston University; Bill Cleary ’56, former student-athlete, head coach and director of athletics at Harvard; John Connolly, longtime sports reporter at the Boston Herald; Dan Fridgen, former student-athlete at Colgate and head coach at Rensselaer; Mike Gilligan, former head coach at Yale and Vermont; Lou Lamoriello, former student-athlete and head coach at Providence and current CEO, president and general manager of the New Jersey Devils; Mark Morris, former student-athlete at Colgate and former head coach at Clarkson; Tim Taylor ’63, former student-athlete at Harvard and head coach at Yale; and Adam Wodon, editor of the College Hockey News website.