Media Center: Harvard Crimson Men's Golf - Program Awards

Men’s Golf Annual Awards Rob Erickson ’01 Team Player Award
Rob Erickson was a three year golf letterman and member of the class of '01 who passed away on January 20, 2005. His friends and teammates knew Rob as a strong advocate for his school, his friends, and the values he shared with his parents. While every Harvard student remembers how it felt to open their acceptance letter, Rob seemed to carry that feeling with him every day throughout college. As a Harvard student-athlete, Rob saw it as his responsibility to help younger players feel welcome at Harvard. When recruits visited campus, Rob was the first to meet them and always offered to house them during their stay. Those who eventually came to Harvard knew they already had one good friend on the team.   In recognition of Rob’s contributions to Harvard and the golf program, the golf team has created a Team Player award to be given to the golfer who best follows Rob’s example in his commitment to team and community – the Rob Erickson ’01 Team Player Award.

Year Name
2005 Tom Hegge ’07
2006 James Cleary ’06
2007 Tom Hegge ’07
2008 Mike Shore ‘09
2009 John Christensen ‘09
2010 Peter Singh ‘10
2011 Theo Lederhausen '14
2012 Theo Lederhausen '14
2013 Kevin McCarthy '14
2014 Kevin McCarthy '14
Alex Vik ’78 MVP
As a freshman in 1975, Alex won the inaugural Ivy League Championship individually and led the team to their only team Ivy League Championship the same year. The following year he won the individual trophy again and followed up with two more All Ivy performances. Alex has continued to be a valuable member of the Harvard Golf program as a Co-Chair of the Friends of Harvard Board and the father of women’s team member Caroline Vik. This award is given annually to the team member who is most responsible for moving the program toward its vision of becoming the best program in the Northeast.
Year Name
2005 Chris Wu ‘05
2006 David (DJ) Hynes ’06
2007 Greg Shuman ‘10
2008 Not awarded
2009 Greg Shuman ‘10
2010 Antonio Grillo ‘12
2011 Mark Pollak '12
2012 Tony Grillo '12
2013 Theo Lederhausen '14
2014 Theo Lederhausen '14
The Biff Jeeks Harvard Golf Award
Named in honor of the legendary man, this award is given to the Harvard golfer who best exemplifies the traditions of excellence at Harvard, who best represents Harvard Golf and whose fighting spirit helps them and their teammates overachieve.
Year Name
2010 Greg Shuman ‘10
2011 Kevin McCarthy '14
2012 Tony Grillo '12
2013 Michael Lai '14
2014 Un Cho '16

Harvard Department of Athletics Senior Award Winners

Year Name Award
1952 Dustin M Burke ’52   The Francis H. Burr ’09 Scholarship