No. 4 Lightweight Crew Downs Georgetown

Photo courtesy of Zack Williamson
Photo courtesy of Zack Williamson

The Crimson sweep three races against the Hoyas.

PRINCETON, N.J. – No. 4 Harvard lightweight crew downed Georgetown Sunday morning, winning three races on a flat Carnegie Lake.

The varsity eight defeated the Hoyas by open water, crossing in 6:29.7 with a building headwind. Georgetown clocked a time of 6:42.8.

The second and third varsity both finished ahead of the Georgetown boat, as the Crimson 2V posted a time of 6:35.4. The 3V boat, led by stroke Eli Leavitt and coxswain Chris Xu, finished with a time of 6:42.1, a half-length ahead of the Hoyas (6:45.3).

In the freshman eight race, Harvard 1F ranked first by open water, placing ahead of the Crimson 2F and the Georgetown 3V/1F. The first freshman boat clocked a time of 6:21.3, followed by the 2F with a time of 6:56.7.

The Crimson returns home next weekend to host Yale and Princeton in search of its fifth-straight Goldthwait Cup. The race will be the final regular season competition and can be watched live on the Ivy League Digital Network.

Varsity Eight:
Harvard - 6:29.7
Georgetown - 6:42.8

Second Varsity Eight:
Harvard - 6:35.4
Harvard 3V - 6:42.1
Georgetown - 6:45.3

Frosh Eight:
Harvard - 6:21.3
Harvard 2F - 6:56.7
Georgetown 3V/1F - 7:00.8


First Varsity
Bow: Lucas Farewell; 2: Nico Astrup Wiik; 3: Jack Kelly; 4: Thomas Marshall; 5: Alexander Newell; 6: Samuel Frum; 7: Andrew Campbell; Stroke: Alexander Bonorris; Coxswain: Shane Bouchard 

Second Varsity
Bow: Edward McKlveen; 2: Mitchel Cole; 3: Connor Mangan; 4: Ian Klein; 5: James Groeneveld; 6: Robert Hawthorne; 7: Christopher Magnani; Stroke: Eli Leavitt; Coxswain: Chris Xu

Third Varsity
Bow: Lev Ratnofsky; 2: Ross Svenson; 3: Christopher McKenna; 4: Nelson Arnous; 5: Cameron Heron; 6: Matthew Pawlowski; 7: Stefan Skalbania; Stroke: Nicholas Phillips; Coxswain: Alex Spencer 

First Freshman
Bow: Mark Steinbrick; 2: Patrick Anderson; 3: Christopher Wales; 4: Kalvis Hornburg; 5: Ian Meyer; 6: Thomas Gill; 7: Matthew Podlesak; Stroke: Emanuel Ritschard; Coxswain: James Dreben 

Second Freshman
Bow: Alexander Keane; 2: Timothy King; 3: Michael Kikukawa; 4: Samir Durrani; 5: Michael Savarese; 6: Michael Casciotti; 7: Johann Colloredo-Mansfeld; Stroke: Eric Rodrigo; Coxswain: Brett Biebelberg