Lightweight Crew Captures Sixth-Straight Biglin Bowl

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Harvard lightweight crew outpaced MIT and Dartmouth by open water Saturday morning to take home its sixth-straight Biglin Bowl. The Crimson crossed in 6:18.0 to take home its 51st trophy in the series with the Engineers and Big Green. 

In a close race for second, MIT edged Dartmouth by a half-length with a time of 6:22.3. It was a beautiful day for racing with a consistent wind, mainly head with slight cross component.

The freshman eight raced like veterans, taking home the win in the 2V event with a time of 6:24.1. The second varsity wasn't far behind, clocking a time of 6:29.2 and finishing ahead of Dartmouth (6:38.7) and MIT (6:47.9).

The Crimson 3V gained momentum early, taking an early lead over the Big Green and Engineers and holding it to post a 22-second victory (6:40.3).

The freshman four 'B' squad, containing Michael Savarese, Timothy King, Johann Colloredo-Mansfeld, stroke Eric Rodrigo and coxswain: Brett Biebelberg, won the race with a time of 7:52.9.

Harvard hits the road next weekend, competing against Navy on Saturday for the Haines Cup. The Crimson will face Georgetown in Princeton, N.J. Sunday, April 20.

Harvard Boating
First Varsity:
Bow: Lucas Farewell; 2: Nico Astrup Wiik; 3: Jack Kelly; 4: Thomas Marshall; 5: Alexander Newell; 6: Samuel Frum; 7: Andrew Campbell; Stroke: Alexander Bonorris; Coxswain: Shane Bouchard

Second Varsity:
Bow: Cameron Clemence; 2: Mitchel Cole; 3: Connor Mangan; 4: Ian Klein; 5: James Groeneveld; 6: Robert Hawthorne; 7: Christopher Magnani; Stroke: Eli Leavitt; Coxswain: Chris Xu 

Third Varsity:
Bow: Lev Ratnofsky; 2: Nelson Arnous; 3: Cameron Heron; 4: Ross Svenson; 5: Stefan Skalbania; 6: Matthew Pawlowski; 7: Edward McKlveen; Stroke: Nicholas Phillips; Coxswain: Alex Spencer 

First Freshman:
Bow: Mark Steinbrick; 2: Patrick Anderson; 3: Christopher Wales; 4: Kalvis Hornburg; 5: Ian Meyer; 6: Thomas Gill; 7: Matthew Podlesak; Stroke: Emanuel Ritschard; Coxswain: James Dreben 

Freshman Four A:
Bow: Alexander Keane; 2: Oliver Band; 3: Michael Kikukawa; Stroke: Michael Casciotti; Coxswain: Charlie Zhang 

Freshman Four B:
Bow: Michael Savarese; 2: Timothy King; 3: Johann Colloredo-Mansfeld; Stroke: Eric Rodrigo; Coxswain: Brett Biebelberg 

Varsity 8:
Harvard - 6:18.0
MIT - 6:22.3
Dartmouth - 6:23.6

Second Varsity 8:
Harvard 1F - 6:24.1
Harvard - 6:29.2
Dartmouth - 6:38.7
MIT - 6:47.9

Third Varsity:
Harvard - 6:40.3
Dartmouth - 7:00.8
MIT - 7:14.2

Second Freshman 4+/4V:
Harvard 2F B - 7:52.9
Harvard 2F A - 8:10.6
Dartmouth 4V - 8:15.3

Second Varsity Race: