No. 1 Harvard Lightweight Crew Sweeps Four Races at Dartmouth, Wins Biglin Bowl

No. 1 Harvard Lightweight Crew Sweeps Four Races at Dartmouth, Wins Biglin Bowl

Harvard's first varsity boat won for the fourth time this spring (photo Linda Muri).

The Biglin Bowl went to the No. 1 Harvard lightweight crew for the 50th time in 59 years, as the Crimson topped Dartmouth and MIT Saturday morning. Harvard also won the second varsity, third varsity and novice eight races to sweep all four competitions of the beautiful day with flat water and a moderate tail current.

The Crimson started the day with a 3.6-second win in the novice eights event. Harvard's first freshman boat came in at 5:51.9, ahead of Dartmouth and the Crimson's second freshman boating, which clocked in at 6:16.0.

Next, the Crimson's three varsity groups each passed MIT and the Big Green. Harvard's first varsity started the varsity races with its win for the Biglin Bowl, followed by the second and third varsities. The first varsity rowed the course in 5:41.2 with Dartmouth's best boat 3.9 seconds back and MIT another 12.3 seconds behind.

The second and third varsities each won with open water. Harvard's second boat had the third-fastest time of the day with a 5:48.1 and was easily past MIT's 5:56.7 and Dartmouth's 6:03.4 in the race. The third varsity stopped the clock in 6:02.7, while MIT finished the course in 6:13.1 and Dartmouth was at 6:31.3.

Harvard is back on the Charles River next weekend when Navy visits Cambridge. The racing will be streamed live online for free on

First Varsity

Harvard – 5:41.2
Dartmouth – 5:45.1
MIT – 5:53.5

Second Varsity
Harvard – 5:48.1
MIT – 5:56.7
Dartmouth – 6:03.4

Third Varsity
Harvard – 6:02.7
MIT – 6:13.1
Dartmouth – 6:31.3

Freshman/Novice Eight
Harvard 1F – 5:51.9
Dartmouth – 5:55.5
Harvard 2F – 6:16.0

First Varsity

Bow: Stuart Taylor; 2: Matt O'Leary; 3: Nicholas Gates; 4: Austin Meyer; 5: Michael Wales; 6: Florian Mayr; 7: Andrew Campbell; Stroke: Alexander Bonorris; Coxswain: Paul Farber 

Second Varsity
Bow: Malte Zopfs; 2: Connor Mangan; 3: Craig Herron; 4: Michael Paresky; 5: Erich Schultze; 6: Robert Hawthorne; 7: James Groeneveld; Stroke: Nico Wiik; Coxswain: Alex Saal

Third Varsity
Bow: AJ Carvalho; 2: Simon Maas; 3: Nelson Arnous; 4: Sam Barrington; 5: Stefan Skalbania; 6: Chris Magani; 7: Tim McLaughlin; Stroke: Eli Leavitt; Coxswain: Jonathan Shpall

First Freshmen/Novice Eight
Bow: Cameron Clemence; 2: Zebulon Goodman; 3: Christopher McKenna; 4: Ian Klein; 5: Lucas Farewell; 6: Samuel Frum; 7: Min-Woo Park; Stroke: Jeffrey Rogers; Coxswain: Joshua Blecher-Cohen