Harvard Lightweights Start Saturday Morning Against Delaware

Harvard Lightweights Start Saturday Morning Against Delaware

The morning sun shone on the freshman fours in last season's season-opening Harvard-Delaware matchup.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—Coming off a perfect 2010 dual season, the Harvard lightweight crew opens the 2011 spring campaign against Delaware, Saturday morning on the Charles River.

The Course
The 2,000-meter course for Harvard and Radcliffe's home races begins in the Charles River Basin, roughly 100 meters upstream from the Longfellow Bridge and continues upstream until to the finish line just downstream of the Hyatt Regency Cambridge. Popular spectator viewing areas include the finish line in front of the Hyatt and the Harvard Bridge (Massachusetts Avenue) at the course's midpoint.

Watch From Home
Saturday's racing marks the debut of video streaming for Harvard and Radcliffe's home races. All of the crews' home races in 2011 are scheduled to be streamed on, weather permitting. Click here and then choose the "Live Events" tab to view the live feed once racing is underway.

Saturday's Harvard/Radcliffe Schedule
8 a.m. – Radcliffe heavyweight varsity four
8:24 a.m. – Radcliffe heavyweight second varsity eight
8:48 a.m. – Radcliffe heavyweight varsity eight
9 a.m. – Harvard lightweight varsity eight
9:12 a.m. – Radcliffe lightweight varsity four (first varsity)
9:24 a.m. – Harvard lightweight second varsity eight
9:36 a.m. – Radcliffe lightweight second varsity eight
9:48 a.m. – Harvard lightweight freshman eight
10 a.m. – Harvard lightweight third varsity eight
10:12 a.m. – Harvard lightweight freshman four

Varsity Eight
Cox: Angela Chang, 8: Matt O'Leary  , 7: Tom Nesel, 6: Will Newell, 5: Erich Schultze, 4: Tim Moore, 3: Austin Meyer, 2: Jared Dourdevelle, 1: Andrew Trott

Second Varsity Eight
Cox: Lizzy Maybank, 8: Florian Mayr, 7: Alex Newell, 6: Tyler Caldwell, 5: Nicholas Gates,  4: Billy Hennrikus, 3: Sean Duncan, 2: Stuart Taylor, 1: Ben Bayley

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Paul Farber, 8: Michael Paresky, 7: Gary Pellisier, 6: Matt Gibbons, 5: Jordan Cotton, 4: Arturo Villanueva, 3: Martin Wallner, 2: Craig Herron, 1: Colin Rees

Freshman Eight
Cox: Shane Bouchard, 8: Michael Wales, 7: Andrew Campbell, 6: Peter Moot, 5: Joey Wall, 4: Cam Heron, 3: Benjamin Hughes, 2: Alexander DeLaney, 1: Jamie Ashton

Freshman Four A
Cox: Martin Cseh, 4: Kevin Hernandez, 3: Luis Gallardo, 2: James Carey, 1: Michael Zamora

Freshman Four B
Cox: Michael Gil, 4: James Ondaatje, 3: Yoan N'Komba, 2: Steven Soto, 1: Frank Mace

Freshman Four C
Cox: Alex Saal, 4: Alex Chivescu, 3: Richard Huang, 2: Jordan Feyko, 1: David Campos

Last Season
The Crimson varsity eight posted a 10-0 record in head-to-head racing last spring, the 25th perfect season in program history and the first since 1997. Harvard went on to finish second to Princeton at the EARC Sprints and claim the bronze medal at the IRA National Championships.

The 2010 Harvard freshman eight followed the varsity's lead with a 10-0 dual record and silver-medal performance at Sprints.

History Lesson
Harvard took advantage of a perfect early-April Saturday on the Charles River to get last season off to a winning start against Delaware. Harvard swept four races against the Blue Hens, with the varsity eight pulling away to a 9.4-second victory and both the second and third varsities beating Delaware's second varsity.

Who's Back?
Seven Harvard oarsmen return after spending time in the varsity eight last spring: Tim Moore, Austin Meyer, Will Newell, Billy Hennrikus, Andrew Trott, Jared Dourdeville and Tom Nesel. Newell is the Crimson's captain and is one of four seniors back from the 2010 varsity.

In the Fall
The Crimson began the 2010-11 academic year by placing two boats among the top four finishers out of 21 entries in the men's lightweight eights event at the 46th Head Of The Charles Regatta. Harvard followed that performance by placing second, seventh and 22nd out of 29 boats at the Princeton Chase. The Crimson lightweight four finished first among lightweights and seventh of 49 total entries at the Foot of the Charles.