No. 2 Harvard Lightweight Crew Keeps Biglin Bowl with Sweep

Billy Hennrikus, Andrew Trott and James Stewart helped Harvard win the Biglin Bowl, while Tyler Caldwell (second from right) stroked the victorious second varsity.

HANOVER, N.H.—The No. 2 Harvard lightweight crew swept four races from No. 10 Dartmouth and No. 11 MIT, retaining the Biglin Bowl with its win in the varsity eight, Saturday morning on the Connecticut River.

The Crimson varsity eight (7-0) finished in 5:47.0, registering a 3.7-second win over the host Big Green and finished 10.4 seconds ahead of the Engineers for its second straight Biglin Bowl victory and its 47th in the trophy's 56-year history. Harvard pulled away as the race went on to overcome tough competition from Dartmouth and MIT and cold, rainy weather.

“It was a great weekend for us,” said Harvard head coach Charley Butt. “All of our boats were able to move consistently. I think Dartmouth and MIT were both strong, but we rowed well and did not ever let our opponents control us.”

The Harvard second varsity eight won by nearly eight seconds with a winning time of 5:57.9, while the freshman eight finished in 5:56.0, more than nine seconds ahead of the second-place Engineers. MIT edged Dartmouth for second by six-tenths of a second. The second freshman race featured just two boats, as the Crimson beat the Big Green by more than 14 seconds.

Varsity Eight
Harvard 5:47.0
Dartmouth 5:50.7
MIT 5:57.4

Second/Third Varsity Eights
Harvard 2V 5:57.9
Dartmouth 6:05.7
Harvard 3V 6:11.2                     

Freshman Eight
Harvard 5:56.0
MIT 6:05.2
Dartmouth 6:05.8

Second Freshman Eight
Harvard  6:13.9
Dartmouth 6:28.2

Harvard Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Dexter Louie, 8: Tim Moore, 7: Austin Meyer, 6: Will Newell, 5: Martin Eiermann, 4: Billy Hennrikus, 3: Andrew Trott, 2: Jared Dourdeville, 1: James Stewart

Second Varsity Eight
Cox: Lizzy Maybank, 8: Tyler Caldwell, 7: Ben Bayley, 6: Tom Nesel, 5: Sean Duncan, 4: Michael Murray, 3: Benjamin Tuyp, 2: Andrew Corcoran, 1: Michael Silvestri

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Angela Chang, 8: Jordan Cotton, 7: Gary Pellisier, 6: Matt Gibbons, 5: Christopher Oland, 4: Collin Rees, 3: Martin Wallner, 2: Joshua Foote, 1: Kevin Fiamingo

Freshman Eight
Cox: Paul Farber, 8: Florian Mayr, 7: Erich Schultze, 6: James Groeneveld, 5: Nicholas Gates, 4: Michael Paresky, 3: Tom Foley, 2: Matt O'Leary, 1: Alex Newell

Second Freshman Eight
Cox: Alex Saal, 8: Kevin Connolly, 7: Gabriel Lloyd, 6: Craig Herron, 5: Arturo Villanueva, 4: Chris Henderson, 3: AJ Carvalho, 2: Francisco Triana, 1: Simon Maas