No. 6 Harvard Heavyweight Crew Retains Stein Cup Against No. 9 Brown

No. 6 Harvard will visit No. 4 Princeton next week (Zack Williamson).

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – In its first racing of the year, the No. 6 Harvard heavyweight crew defeated No. 9 Brown in the first varsity eight event to claim the Stein Cup for the seventh-consecutive year.

On a gusty day with the head wind averaging 15-18 miles per hour and up to 20 MPH, Harvard opened the racing by topping Brown in the first varsity eight by a nine-second margin, 6:32.0 to 6:41.0. The Crimson led for the entire race and grew its lead in the final 1,000 meters.

"It was a great day for the Harvard-Brown rivalry with lead changes and full course racing across the board," said Charley Butt, The Bolles-Parker Head Coach for Harvard Men's Heavyweight Crew.  

In the second varsity eight, Brown squeaked by for a victory by one seat, winning, 6:46.9 to 6:47.5. Up next, Harvard took the third varsity eight, cruising to a victory in 7:02.3, while the Bears crossed the line in 7:26.2

Brown claimed victories in the final two races as the Bears on the fourth varsity eight by a slim time of 6:56.6 to 6:58.1 In the last event, Brown defeated the Harvard fifth varsity eight by winning in 7:34.4, while the Crimson ended with a mark of 8:08.9.

Harvard will race No. 4 Princeton and MIT for the Compton Cup on Saturday, April 15. The events will be shown live on the Ivy League Digital Network.

Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Cole Durbin; Stroke: Liam Corrigan; 7: Lars Lorch; 6: Vincent Breet; 5: James Johnston; 4: Alexander Richards; 3: Sam Hardy; 2: Arthur Doyle; Bow: David Ambler

Second Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Jennie Kunes; Stroke: Ross Jarvis; 7: Travis Taaffe; 6: Pieter Quinton; 5: Benj Cohen; 4: James Clarke; 3: Max Ferguson; 2: Chase Buchholz; Bow: Sam Meijer

Third Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Maddie Zabriskie; Stroke: Dom Glover; 7: Phil Bates; 6: Henry Kennelly; 5: Juri-Mikk Udam; 4: David Fleming; 3: Andre Dempsey; 2: Ryan Rasmussen; Bow: Ben Strathmore

Fourth Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Nick Yan; Stroke: Anthony Kenny; 7: Max Mezger; 6: Nicholas Plaut; 5: Jack Luby; 4: Jack Richards; 3: Niels Laurberg; 2: Andrew Morley; Bow: Travis Anderson

Fifth Varsity Eight: Coxswain: Jacob Russell; Stroke: David Orner; 7: Miles Neumann; 6: Henry Lynch; 5: Bryce Anderson; 4: Ryan Patrick; 3: Thomas Hlebowicz; 2: Eric Anderson; Bow: Evan Simons

Harvard – 6:32.0
Brown – 6:41.0

Brown – 6:46.9
Harvard – 6:47.5

Harvard – 7:02.3
Brown – 7:26.2

Brown – 6:56.6
Harvard – 6:58.1

Brown – 7:34.4
Harvard – 8:08.9