Heavyweight, Lightweight Crews Place 29 on IRA All-Academic Teams

Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot
Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Twenty-nine (29) members of the Harvard men's heavyweight, men's lightweight and Radcliffe lightweight crew teams earned Intercollegiate Rowing Association (IRA) All-Academic distinction, as announced by the IRA Board of Stewards Wednesday.

From the men's heavyweight squad, Achim Harzheim, Adam Janes, Alexander Richards, Ben Strathmore, Cole Durbin, Curtis McLeod, Jacqueline Goodman, James Green, Maddie Zabriskie, Pat Dowling, and Rory Glover were honored.

Ten (10) from the men's lightweight crew – Alexander Harding, Andre Dempsey, Catherine Gildea, Charlie Zhang, Chris Wales, Ian Klein, Jack Kelly, Jordan Rogers, Matthew Podlesak, and Sam Frum – were recognized.

Eight Radcliffe lights earned distinction: Electra Lang, Erin Walk, Gabby McNeill, Genevieve Shaw, Katelyn McEvoy, Kristen Faulkner, Naomi Lang, and Ruby Emberling.

For a student-athlete to be eligible, she/he must be at least a sophomore in standing and completed one full year at her/his respective institution; maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.35 or higher; earned an institutional letter; and competed at the 2016 Intercollegiate Rowing Association Regatta.