No. 5 Heavyweight Crew Wins 19th-Straight Smith Cup Over No. 9 Northeastern

Photo Courtesy of Harvard Athletic Communications
Photo Courtesy of Harvard Athletic Communications

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The No. 5 Harvard men's heavyweight crew team outlasted No. 9 Northeastern to secure its 19th-straight Smith Cup and 25th overall in its final race of the regular season Saturday morning on banks of the Charles River.

The varsity eight concluded the morning by narrowing the Huskies for its 34th win in the all-time series. Battling neck-and-neck the opening 300 meters of the race, Harvard gained the edge 500 meters in and pulled away with a four-seat lead at the halfway mark. Northeastern made a late push over the final half of the course, but Harvard held on to claim the cup with a time of 6:03.7, while the Huskies checked in at 6:05.3.

The second and third varsity rolled to open water wins in the second race of the day, blazing out of the start and coasted to the finish line as Harvrd's second varsity checked in 6:11.7 and its third varsity followed at 6:16.2. Northeastern ticked in at 6:22.3.

In the opening race of the day, the fourth varsity A started strong to claim a four-seat lead at the midway mark until Northeastern inched its way back to close the gap to within a seat with 300 meters to go, but the Crimson endured the late push and thrusted ahead to stop the clock at 7:02.9. The Huskies check in right after at 7:03.6 and the Harvard B finished at 7:30.3

Harvard will have a weekend off before heading to Eastern Sprint Championships Sunday, May 15 in Worcester, Massachusetts. 

Varsity Eight:
Cole Durbin (coxswain), Jack Kelley (stroke), James Croxford (7), Conor Harrity (6), Ross Jarvis (5), James Johnston (4), Alexander Richards (3), Sam Hardy(2), Arthur Doyle (bow)
Harvard             6:03.7
Northeastern     6:05.3

Second Varsity:
Jacqueline Goodman (coxswain), Liam Corrigan (stroke), Travis Taaffe (7), Henry Kennelly (6), Lars Lorch (5), Sean Vedrinelle (4), Achim Harzheim (3), Adam Janes (2), Sam Meijer (bow)
Harvard             6:11.7

Third Varsity:
Jennie Kunes (coxswain), Dom Glover (stroke), Juri-Mikk Udam (7), Ryan Rasmussen (6), Pat Dowling (5), James Clarke (4), Phil Bates (3), Curtis McLeod (2), Ben Strathmore (bow)
Harvard             6:16.2
Northeastern     6:22.3

Fourth Varsity Fours:
A: Maddie Zabriskie (coxswain) Chase Buchholz (stroke), Carter Dickinson (3), David Fleming (2), Travis Anderson (1)
Harvard            7:02.9
Northeastern    7:03.6

B: Jacob Russell (coxswain), Ty Gill (stroke), Niels Laurberg (3), Owen Borges (2), Jack Lane (1)
Harvard             7:30.3