No. 5 Heavyweight Crew Bests No. 7 Northeastern

Photo courtesy of Zack Williamson
Photo courtesy of Zack Williamson

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – No. 5 Harvard men's heavyweight crew topped No. 7 Northeastern for the 18th-straight year, winning the Smith Cup after a two-second win over the Huskies Saturday morning on the Charles River.  

With good conditions in the basin and a light tailwind, the varsity eight, stroked by Chase Buchholz and coxed by Jack Smith, crossed the finish line in 5:40.71, just over two seconds before Northeastern.

The Huskies earned the advantage over the Crimson JV and 1F. NU clocked a time of 5:45.81, while the Crimson second varsity was less than three seconds off the pace and the freshman boat was three seats behind.

In the closest race of the morning, the Harvard third varsity was ahead of Northeastern by just 0.42 of a second. The Crimson clocked a time of 5:54.30. The Crimson 2F was open water behind in third.  

The Crimson will take a week off before heading to the Eastern Sprints May 17 in Worcester, Massachusetts.  

First Varsity
Coxswain: Jack Smith; Stroke: Chase Buchholz; 7: James Medway; 6: Charles Risbey; 5: Max Meyer-Bosse; 4: Ross Jarvis; 3: James Johnston; 2: James Croxford; Bow: Rory Glover
Harvard           5:40.71
Northeastern   5:42.97

Second Varsity
Coxswain: Jessi Izhakoff; Stroke: Henry Kennelly; 7: Matt Carter; 6: Max Ferguson; 5: Ed Rippon; 4: Andrew Emmett; 3: Sean Vedrinelle; 2: Juri Mikk-Udam; Bow: Adam Janes

First Freshman
Coxswain: Cole Durbin; Stroke: Ryan Rasmussen; 7: Travis Taaffe; 6: Alexander Richards; 5: Jack Kelley; 4: Dom Glover; 3: Connor Harrity; 2: Curtis McLeod; Bow: Ben Strathmore
Northeastern   5:45.81
Harvard JV      5:48.28
Harvard 1F      5:49.49

Varsity Four A
Coxswain: Tina Murphy; Stroke: Alexander Uruchurtu; 3: Lachlan Hanbury-Brown; 2: Eli Davey; 1: Pat Dowling

Varsity Four B
Coxswain: Charlie Zhang; Stroke: Sam Green; 3: Will Locke; 2: Hyde Patterson; 1: Al Muzaurieta
BU 4V A           6:37.19
Northeastern   6:47.21
BU 4V B           6:47.80
Harvard 4V A  6:49.37
Harvard 4V B  6:50.11
BU 5V              7:01.84

Third Varsity
Coxswain: Joanie Kim; Stroke: Ty Gill; 7: Phil Bates; 6: Achim Harzheim; 5: Stefano Belfiore; 4: Craig Slater; 3: Sam Hardy; 2: James Green; Bow: Eric Slater

Second Freshman
Coxswain: Jacqueline Goodman; Stroke: Max Moulton; 7: Charlie Gibson; 6: Sam Christenfeld; 5: Travis Anderson; 4: Eric Anderson; 3: Donovan Keene; 2: Jackson Reynolds; Bow: Dan Roman
Harvard 3V      5:54.30
Northeastern   5:54.72
Harvard 2F      6:21.36