Harvard Heavyweight Crew Readies for EARC Sprints Sunday

Photo courtesy of Zack Williamson
Photo courtesy of Zack Williamson

The Crimson is looking for its fifth-straight Rowe Cup victory, a streak that would tie the longest in program history.

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Competing against one of the most competitive fields in the history of the event, No. 4 Harvard heavyweight crew heads to Worcester, Mass., and Lake Quinsigamond for the 2014 EARC Sprints. The Crimson is looking for its fifth-straight Rowe Cup and 34th overall. The entire event can be watched live here.

Harry Parker Cup
Starting this year, the winner of the varsity eight race will be awarded the Harry Parker Cup, a trophy picked out by the legendary Harvard coach and donated by the Friends of Harvard and Radcliffe Rowing.  

Rowe Cup History
The Harvard seniors will look to become the fifth group to win four-straight Rowe Cups. Previous four-time winners include the classes of 1967, '75, '76 and '13. A win would mark the second time in program history that the Crimson has won five in a row and match the longest streak in Harvard's annals. Harvard won five-straight from 1972-76.   

Rowe Cup Titles (33) - 1947, 1949, 1950, 1951, 1959, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1967, 1969, 1970, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1978, 1980, 1983, 1985, 1986, 1988, 1990, 1992, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013

Harvard's Major Heavyweight Sprints Championships
Varsity eight: 1947, '48, '49, '59, '64, '65, '66, '67, '68, '69, '70, '74, '75, '76, '77, '80, '83, '85, '88, '89, '90, 2003, '04, '05, '07, '10, '11, '13
Second varsity eight: 1947, '49, '64, '65, '66, '69, '72, '73, '74, '75, '78, '85, '86, '90, '93, 2002, '03, '04, '05, '06, '11
Freshman eight: 1949, '50, '55, '58, '63, '65, '67, '72, '76, '80, '83, '84, '85, '86, '90, '99, 2001, '02, '04, '08, '10, '11, '12, '13

The Crimson varsity eight enters the weekend seeded second behind Yale and ahead of Princeton, Brown and Cornell in the EARC poll. The first freshman boat is the lone boat to be favored headed into the weekend, besting Brown and Cornell who round out the top three. The second varsity ranks third overall behind Northeastern and BU.

Heavyweight History
Harvard has swept the three major heavyweight divisions at Eastern Sprints six times (1945, '65, '85, '90, 2004, '11). Only four other times has one school swept all three races: 1952 (Navy), '79 (Yale), '94 (Brown) and 2009 (Brown). Harvard has won two of the three races on 16 occasions. The Crimson has advanced to the varsity grand final in 64 of the 68 years racing at Sprints. Harvard has won five of the six major events six times.

First Varsity
Bow: Peter Scholle; 2: James Medway; 3: Andrew Reed; 4: Ben Lynton; 5: Vincent Breet; 6: Max Meyer Bosse; 7: Charlie Risbey; 8: Andy Holmes; Coxswain: Will Hakim

Second Varsity
Bow: Jay Ditmarsch; 2: Achim Harzheim; 3: Greg Edwards; 4: Josh Bernstein; 5: Adam Janes; 6: Andrew Emmett; 7: Rory Glover; Stroke: James Croxford; Coxswain: Brittanie Maxwell

Third Varsity
Bow: Eric Slater; 2: Nick Jaroszewicz; 3: Jon Young; 4: Morgan Bean, 5: Stefano Belfiore; 6: Peter Lehner; 7: Alex Uruchurtu; Stroke: Craig Slater; Coxswain: Jessi Izhakoff

Fourth Varsity
Bow: Lachlan Hanbury-Brown; 2: Al Muzaurieta; 3: James Green; 4: Nick Gavin; 5: Pat Dowling; 6: Rob Ledniczky; 7: Rob Rasmussen; Stroke: Jeff Rogers; Cox: Jack Smith

First Freshman
Bow: Ross Jarvis; 2: Sean Vedrinelle; 3: Phil Bates; 4: Juri-Mikk Udam; 5: James Johnston; 6: Henry Kennelly; 7: Matt Carter; 8: Chase Buchholz; Coxswain: Joel Bateman

5V Four:
Bow: Sam Green; 2: Eli Davey; 3 James Zatsiorsky; Stroke James Bollinger; Coxswain: Tina Murphy

In the Polls
Harvard remained at No. 4 this week in the USRowing poll with 223 points despite its undefeated status. The Crimson was edged out of the top-three by Yale (231 points). Washington – who garnered all 13 first-place votes – stands in the top spot and California remains at No. 2 with 247 points. Harvard started the season at No. 1 and spent the first three weeks ahead of the field before dropping to No. 3.

Running the Table
The Crimson V8 remains undefeated in dual races this season at 7-0. Harvard has not lost a head-to-head battle since April 10, 2010 at Brown (35-straight) and has won 49 of its last 50 duals.

Ivy Implications
The top-finishing Ivy League varsity eights in the heavy and light divisions will win the Ivy title. The Harvard heavyweights have earned 28 Ancient Eight crowns since 1957, while the lightweights have won 26.

Gold Standard
Only 11 times in the 68-year history of Sprints and six times since 1957 has Harvard failed to win at least one major grand final. In one of those seasons (1981), the Crimson did not compete due to exams. In two others (heavyweight in 1992, lightweight in 2009), Harvard won a team cup despite not coming away with a gold medal.

In the Launch
Charley Butt, the Bolles-Parker Head Coach for Harvard Men's Heavyweight Crew, begins his 29th season with the Harvard rowing program and first with the heavyweight men in 2013-14. The ninth coach in Harvard heavyweight crew history, Butt becomes just the fourth coach to lead the Crimson since 1946.

Last Season
Harvard secured a silver medal at the IRA national championship regatta a year ago, wrapping the season with a decisive victory over Yale and taking home The Visitors' Challenge Cup at the Henley Royal Regatta.

Up Next
Harvard heads to the IRA National Championships held in New Jersey May 30-June 1. The Crimson culminates the season with the 149th Harvard-Yale Regatta June 7 in New London, Conn.