Harry Parker Presented with USRowing Medal of Honor

Above: Parker accepts the USRowing Medal of Honor. Below: Parker and Cashin (photos courtesy USRowing).
Above: Parker accepts the USRowing Medal of Honor. Below: Parker and Cashin (photos courtesy USRowing).

Harry Parker, the Thomas Bolles Head Coach for Harvard Men's Crew, was presented the USRowing Medal of Honor, the most coveted award in rowing, at the inaugural Golden Oars Awards Dinner last week at the New York Athletic Club.

"It is appropriate to recognize the achievements of Coach Harry Parker with the USRowing Medal of Honor at our first-ever Golden Oars Awards event," said USRowing Chief Executive Officer Glenn Merry. "He is iconic in the sport of rowing and stands amongst the top coaches in the world.

"The U.S. team benefited greatly through his coaching at several Olympic Games, and many of our finest rowers developed during their time at Harvard. I suspect many rowers and coaches share my admiration for Coach Parker. It is with great enthusiasm that we celebrate his contributions to the sport and his life as an oarsman."

Harvard and U.S. Olympic rower Dick Cashin, a longtime friend of Parker's, presented the medal. During his tribute, Cashin had the crowd of 380 prominent members of the rowing community in awe of the long list of Parker's accomplishments and the people who have had the benefit of being coached by him. Cashin also spoke of the people and teams which had particular meaning for Harry over his 50 years of coaching. Harry's acceptance speech was the highlight of a wonderful evening which put a spotlight on the sport which enjoys such a long and strong tradition at Harvard.

A large Harvard contingent, including many U.S. Olympians and National Team rowers, was on hand with Dick to honor Harry, including: Murray Beach, Stephen Brooks, Charley Butt, John Crocker, Caryn Davies, Liz Demers, Chris Gerry, David Harman, Tim Hosea, Matthew Hughes, Phil Kaiser, Celia Kohl, Sophie Koven, Esther Lofgren, Peter Lowe, Wolfgang Moser, Peter Row, Steve Row, David Weinberg, David Wagener, Brad Wilford, Cameron Winklevoss and Tyler Winklevoss.