Harvard Crews Sweep EARC Postseason Awards

The Harvard heavyweight (top) and lightweight varsity eights and their coaches swept the EARC's honors.
The Harvard heavyweight (top) and lightweight varsity eights and their coaches swept the EARC's honors.

CENTERVILLE, Mass.—The Harvard heavyweight and lightweight crews swept all four postseason awards for the 2011 Eastern Association of Rowing Colleges season, Eastern College Athletic Conference commissioner Rudy Keeling and ECAC director of rowing Gary Caldwell announced Tuesday.

In balloting by his peers, Harry Parker, The Thomas Bolles Head Coach for Harvard Men's Crew, was voted the EARC Heavyweight Coach of the Year while the Crimson easily outdistanced Wisconsin, 9-1, for selection as the EARC Heavyweight Crew of the Year.

In his 49th season, Parker led Harvard to perfect dual seasons and victories in the top three races at the EARC Sprints as well as a victory in the Rowe Cup team competition. The Rowe Cup win was the Crimson's seventh in 10 years and 31st overall. It was only the ninth top-three heavyweight sweep by any school in the 65-year history of the Sprints. It was Harvard’s 27th varsity Eastern Sprints title in school history.

The Harvard varsity eight posted a 7-0 dual season, its second straight Sprints title and a runner-up finish at the Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championships.  It was the second year in a row that the heavyweight varsity eight was named the EARC’s top boat. The members of the Sprints-winning Harvard heavyweight varsity eight were coxswain Chris Kingston and oarsmen Patrick Lapage, Jason Phillips, Nick Jordan, Matthew Edstein, Anthony Locke, Michael DiSanto, Josh Hicks and James O'Connor. 

On the lightweight side, Harvard coach Charley Butt edged Dan Roock of Dartmouth and Yale’s Andy Card for the honor of EARC Lightweight Coach of the Year. Butt received three votes followed by Roock and Card with two and one, respectively.

In his 26th season, Butt directed the Crimson to its 25th EARC varsity and 27th second varsity crowns, both for the first time since 2005. Harvard also took home the Jope Cup team title for the second time in three years, fourth in eight and 21st overall.

Harvard’s lightweight varsity eight, the EARC Lightweight Crew of the Year, entered the 2011 EARC Sprints with a perfect record for the season straight season and went on to rally to an Eastern title and  place second at the IRA National Championships. The members of the Crimson lightweight varsity eight were coxswain Angela Chang, Matt O'Leary, Austin Meyer, Will Newell, Erich Schultze, Tim Moore, Andrew Trott, Jared Dourdevelle and Tom Nesel.

2011 EARC Postseason Awards
Heavyweight Crew of the Year
Harvard varsity eight

Lightweight Crew of the Year
Harvard varsity eight

Heavyweight Coach of the Year
Harry Parker, Harvard

Lightweight Coach of the Year
Charley Butt, Harvard