Harvard Heavyweight Crew Faces Road Test Against Princeton, MIT

Harvard Heavyweight Crew Faces Road Test Against Princeton, MIT

Seniors Phil Matthews and Conner Griffith (left to right) have helped the Crimson second and third varsities win all of their races this spring. Harvard boats have won each of the nine races they have entered.

A week after winning a matchup of the last two Eastern champions in men's heavyweight crew, Harvard visits Princeton, the team that placed second to the Crimson at last year's Eastern Sprints. MIT will also be on hand, as the three varsity eights race for the Compton Cup.

Racing Schedule
9 a.m. – Third varsity eight/fourth varsity eight
9:20 a.m. – Freshman eight
9:40 a.m. – Second varsity eight
10 a.m. – Varsity eight

Follow From Home
Live video of the races is available here.

Probable Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Chris Kingston, 8: Patrick Lapage, 7: Matthew Edstein, 6: Nick Jordan, 5: Michael Disanto, 4: David Wakulich, 3: Parker Washburn, 2: Anthony Locke, 1: James O'Connor

Second Varsity Eight
Cox: David Fuller, 8: Peter Scholle, 7: Justin Mundt, 6: Benjamin French, 5: Elihu Reynolds, 4: Phil Matthews, 3: Josh Hicks, 2: Alex Macintosh, 1: JP Hogan

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Alex Sopko, 8: Jack Morrissey, 7: Conner Griffith, 6: Mihailo Malowani, 5: Alex Soutter, 4: Jason Phillips, 3: Andrew Hamm, 2: Andrew Stein, 1: David Paresky

Fourth Varsity Eight
Cox: Colby Wilkason, 8: Matt Vincent, 7: Eli Shikaloff, 6: William Polachek, 5: Nolan Pollock, 4: Nigel Munoz, 3: Andrew Safir, 2: Edward Winters Ronaldson, 1: Tom Hanson

Freshman Eight
Cox: William Hakim, 8: Andrew Holmes, 7: Jake Sobstyl, 6: Caspar Jopling, 5: Gregory Edwards, 4: Max Monfared, 3: Andrew Reed, 2: Ben Lynton, 1: Jamie Law-Smith

Last Time Out
The Crimson (2-0) captured all five races from Ivy League rival Brown, reclaiming the Stein Cup and avenging its only varsity dual loss of last season, Saturday morning on the Charles River. The varsity eight defeated the Bears by 2.6 seconds in 5:55.2. The second varsity posted the most lopsided victory, by an 11.5-second margin in 5:58.9.

Last Season
Harvard took four races from Princeton, including a memorable victory in the varsity eight, last season on the Charles. The Crimson topped MIT by 26 seconds and retained the Compton Cup after the Tigers' steering cable broke and their racing shell crashed into the Harvard boat. Harvard held a slim lead on Princeton before the collision. The Harvard second varsity eight won by 1.5 seconds, the freshman eight won by three seconds and the third varsity eight won by 4.3 seconds.

The Harvard and Princeton varsity eights met three more times. The Tigers finished second to the Crimson in a heat and the grand final at EARC Sprints and third, less than a second back of winner Harvard, in a heat at the IRA National Championships. Harvard's second varsity topped the Tigers in the Sprints grand final. The Crimson freshmen rallied past Princeton to win Sprints, but the Tigers' rookies finished ahead of Harvard in the IRA grand final.

History Lesson
Harvard has won the Compton Cup in each of the last four and eight of the last nine seasons. Princeton claimed the first four cups in the series, starting in 1933, and has won 14 total, while Harvard has captured the trophy 58 times and MIT once. Princeton last won in 2006, and MIT's lone victory came in 1962. The cup is named for the late Dr. Karl T. Compton, former MIT president.

Scouting the Opposition
Like Harvard, Princeton (4-0) has not yet dropped a race this season. The Tigers swept four races from Georgetown and Syracuse to open the season and then beat Penn and Columbia in four more races last weekend. The Tigers' varsity eight finished three seconds ahead of the Lions and 11.6 ahead of the Quakers.

MIT has not yet raced a varsity eight this spring. The Engineers sent a varsity four to the Knecht Cup and placed fifth in the grand final. The MIT freshman eight fell in a head-to-head race with Northeastern and defeated Williams and Rochester at the Donahue Cup.