Four World Championships Medals, Two Gold, for Rowing Alums

Four World Championships Medals, Two Gold, for Rowing Alums

POZNAN, Poland-Former Radcliffe oarswoman Laura Larsen-Strecker '08 and former Harvard rower Henrik Rummel '09 won gold medals for the United States Sunday at the 2009 World Rowing Championships.

Malcolm Howard '05 also visited the medal stand, earning a silver medal as a member of the Canadian team, while Esther Lofgren '08-09 earned a silver for Team USA. A pair of Harvard lightweights, senior Martin Eiermann and Moritz Hafner '08-09, rowing for Germany, also reached the A final in their event.

Larsen-Strecker was part of the U.S. women's eight, which won its fourth straight title at the World Championships in a dominant performance. The Americans built a 1.82-second lead by the race's midpoint and proved too much for late-charging Romania, which moved from fifth to second in the second half of the race. The U.S. boat finished in 6:05.34, 1.6 seconds ahead of the Romanians.

Rummel won gold in the men's pair with coxswain Sunday. Rummel and his U.S. teammates came from behind in the final 500 meters to edge the Czech Republic by a second. The United States clocked in at 6:53,58, followed by the Czechs (6:54.58) and Germany (6:55.44).

Lofgren and her American teammates held off Canada for the silver medal in the women's four. They were in fourth place 400 meters in put passed Belarus by the halfway mark and got by Canada in the sprint. The U.S. entry finished in 6:36.01, 0.86 seconds ahead of Canada and trailing only wire-to-wire leader the Netherlands.

Howard added another medal to his already impressive resume. Howard won silver as part of the Canadian Eight. The Cannucks finished three seconds behind Germany and a second ahead of the Netherlands. Tyler Winklevoss '04 and the U.S. eight were third in the B final and ninth overall. The Americans finished 2.6 seconds behind Australia and 0.24 behind Ukraine.

Cameron Winklevoss '04 placed 13th overall and first in C final in the men's four.

Martin Eierman and Mortiz Hafner were sixth in the men's lightweight eight. Italy won the race, followed by the United States and Netherlands. The Germany crew clocked in at 5:43.40.