Rowers, Alums Total Eight Nine Medals at Canadian Henley

Rowers, Alums Total Eight Nine Medals at Canadian Henley

Official Regatta Site | Full Results

Harvard and Radcliffe rowers and alumni won nine gold medals at the 127th Royal Canadian Henley Regatta, held Aug. 4-9 in St. Catharines, Ontario.

Canadian Henley is the premier club regatta in North America, and the most competitive summer regatta. This year over 2,800 competitors from 150 clubs from all across Canada, the United State and as far as Mexico competed. The level of racing is pre-elite, with aspiring national-team athletes competing in the under-23 and open divisions as a stepping stone to elite-level competition. Athletes who win at the event often go on to represent their countries at the World Championships and Olympics.

The regatta is unique in that only first place finishers recieve a medal and stand in front of a packed grandstand of over 1,000 spectators at the finish line to receive their medal and trophy. In this regard, as only first place is acknowledged; coming second is the same as coming 22nd.  It was the culminating event of a summer of racing.

Sophomore Stuart Taylor of the Harvard lightweights led the way with three wins. He was a part of winning crews in the senior men's four, senior lightweight men's four and U23 lightweight men's pair. Former Radcliffe heavyweight captain Liz Demers '09 captured championships in the women's championship eight and women's double.

The other Harvard/Radcliffe champions were Sarah (Bates) Johnson '06 in the women's lightweight single, junior David Wakulich in the U23 men's quad, freshman Florian Mayr in the U23 lightweight men's four and Morgan Wimberley '08 in the women's senior double.

Johnson and Mayr also earned runner-up finishes, in the senior lightweight women's quad and the senior lightweight men's four, respectively. Demers placed third in the U23 women's quad, while Wakulich was third in the U-23 men's double, junior Will Newell placed third in the senior lightweight men's single and Morgan Wimberley '08 finished third in the championship women's single.

A full list of Harvard/Radcliffe competitors is below:

Sr Ltwt M2x - 5th: Tom Nesel '12, James Stewart '12
U23 M2x - 3rd: David Wakulich '11
Sr Ltwt M4- Gold: Stuart Taylor '12
Sr Ltwt M4- 2nd: Florian Mayr '13
U23 M1x - 2nd: David Wakulich '11
Sr Ltwt M1x - 3rd: Will Newell '11
Sr M4 - Gold: Stuart Taylor '12
U23 Ltwt M4 - Gold: Florian Mayr '13
Sr Ltwt W1x - Gold: Sarah (Bates) Johnson '06
Sr M2x - 5th: Phil Kaiser '07
Sr M2x - 6th: Matt Lausberg '08
Sr Ltwt M2 - 4th: Florian Mayr '13
U23 Ltwt M2x - Tom Nesel '12, James Stewart '12
U23 W4x - 3rd: Liz Demers '09
U23 W4x - 6th: Molly Griffin '13
Sr Ltwt M8+ dash - 6th: Ben Bayley '11
Sr Ltwt M8+ - 4th: Ben Bayley '11
Sr Ltwt W4x - 2nd: Sarah Johnson '06
U23 Ltwt M2- Gold: Stuart Taylor '12
Champ W8+ - Gold: Liz Demers '09
U23 W2x - Gold: Liz Demers '09
U23 W2x - Molly Griffin '13
U23 W2x - Christina McClintock '13
U23 M4x - Gold: David Wakulich '11
Sr M4x - 5th: Matt Lausberg '08
Champ W1x - 3rd: Morgan Wimberley '08
Sr W2x - Gold: Morgan Wimberley '08
U23 W1x - Christina McClintock '13

Photo of David Wakulich courtesy