No. 4 Harvard Heavyweights Cruise Past No. 6 Northeastern for Smith Cup

No. 4 Harvard Heavyweights Cruise Past No. 6 Northeastern for Smith Cup

The Harvard varsity began to pull away soon after the start.

Varsity eight full race video | Scroll down for YouTube highlights

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.—The fourth-ranked Harvard heavyweight varsity eight built an open-water lead on No. 6 Northeastern in the second 500 meters and never looked back, winning the Smith Cup in its final home competition of the season.

The Crimson second varsity and freshman eights were also victorious on a sunny, clear Saturday morning on the Charles River in their final tuneup for Eastern Sprints.

The varsity (6-1) took control from the outset, gaining a three-seat lead off the starting line. The margin reached eight seats by the 500-meter mark and open water soon after. Harvard finished in 5:51.54, more than six seconds ahead of the Huskies (3-2). The win was Harvard's 13th straight over Northeastern and its 19th in the 22-year history of the Smith Cup.

“It was an encouraging row,” said Harry Parker, the Thomas Bolles Head Coach for Harvard Men's Crew. “The guys did very well. I think we rowed the best race we've had so far.”

The Harvard second and third varsities both finished ahead of the NU second varsity. The Crimson second varsity crossed the finish in 6:00.9, followed less than five seconds later by the third varsity, with the Huskies crossing in 6:08.3 and Harvard's fourth varsity/second freshman eight placing fourth.

The Crimson freshman eight remained unbeaten in six races with a dominant showing, winning by 11.4 seconds. The freshman four race was not contested due to a Northeastern scratch. 

Varsity Eight
Harvard 5:51.54
Northeastern 5:57.6 

Second/Third/Fourth Varsity Eights
Harvard 2V 6:00.9
Harvard 3V 6:05.25
Northeastern 6:08.3
Harvard 4V/2F 6:24.5 

Freshman Eight
Harvard 6:01.3
Northeastern 6:12.7

Harvard Lineups
Varsity Eight
Cox: Kelly Evans, 8: Patrick Lapage, 7: Matt Edstein, 6: Nick Jordan, 5: David Wakulich, 4: Sam O'Connor, 3: Michael DiSanto, 2: Anthony Locke, 1: Blake Pucsek 

Second Varsity Eight
Cox: Joseph Lin, 8: Benjamin French, 7: Noah Bruegmann, 6: Mark Fuller, 5: Spencer Livingston, 4: Phil Matthews, 3: Christopher Fuller, 2: Ivan Posavec, 1: Elihu Reynolds

Third Varsity Eight
Cox: Alex Sopko, 8: Jack Morrissey, 7: Robert Stone, 6: Kyle Gordon, 5: Connor Griffith, 4: Lukens Orthwein, 3: Karl Hirt, 2: Richard Anderson, 1: Alex Soutter

Fourth Varsity Eight
Cox: Tian Feng, 8: Alex Housser, 7: David Paresky, 6: Nigel Munoz, 5: Andrew Hamm, 4: Andrew Stein, 3: Andew Safir, 2: Edward Winters Ronaldson, 1: Michael Velchik

Freshman Eight
Cox: David Fuller, 8: Peter Scholle, 7: James O'Connor, 6: Parker Washburn, 5: Justin Mundt, 4: Jason Phillips, 3: Eli Shikaloff, 2: Alex MacIntosh, 1: Josh Hicks