Men’s Basketball Announces Team Awards, 2018-19 Captains

Photo by Gil Talbot
Photo by Gil Talbot

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Recapping the program's sixth Ivy League championship-winning season that culminated in an appearance in the National Invitation Tournament, Harvard men's basketball revealed its team awards for the 2017-18 campaign and announced its captains for the season to come.

Sophomores Seth Towns and Chris Lewis were named co-recipients of the Raymond P. Lavietes '36 Most Valuable Player Award, marking the sixth-consecutive season the team has awarded co-MVPs. Towns had a remarkable season, as he became the third sophomore in league history and the fourth Harvard player to collect Ivy League Player of the Year honors. He was also a unanimous first team selection and earned AP All-America honorable mention status. Lewis was a first team All-Ivy League and second team NABC all-region selection, as he led the Ivy League in blocks and field goal percentage.

Christian Juzang, a third sophomore, took home a pair of awards – the Hamilton Fish '10 Most Improved Player Award and the Henry Zimmerman Free Throw Shooting Accuracy Award. The point guard was thrust into the starting lineup midway through the season, where he averaged double figure scoring in Ivy play while seeing more than 36 minutes per game. Juzang finished the season 47-for-53 at the free throw line, hitting at an 88.7 percent clip.

Sophomore Justin Bassey took home honors as the Harvard Basketball Defensive Player of the Year and as the Thomas G. Stemberg '71 MBA '73 Iron Man Award recipient. Bassey earned the Iron Man award by virtue of playing the most minutes, as the guard averaged 32.9 minutes per game over the course of the season. Bassey is also the first inaugural recipient of the Harvard Basketball Defensive Player of the Year Award, as he was routinely matched up with the opponents' best player.

Junior Corey Johnson took home the Floyd S. Wilson Sportsmanship Award, as he led the team in charges taken and was a consistent presence from the 3-point line. Senior Chris Egi, the team captain, was bestowed the John Harnice '84 Spirit Award, which is given to the player that best exemplifies spirit, dedication and concern for his fellow man.

At the end of the night, Johnson and junior Weisner Perez were announced as the team captains for the 2018-19 season.