Harvard, Ivy League Honor Joe Azelby ’84 at IFA Reception

Photo by Steven Ryan
Photo by Steven Ryan

NEW YORK – Revered for his contributions to the Harvard football program, former Crimson standout Joe Azelby '84 was selected as Harvard's honoree at the 2019 Ivy Football Association reception.

A linebacker at Harvard, Azelby was a three-year letterwinner and member of two Ivy League championship teams. The 1983 team captain, Azelby was a two-time first team All-Ivy League selection, as well as an Associated Press honorable mention All-American. He was later inducted into the Harvard Varsity Club Hall of Fame in 2002.

Each of the eight Ivy League schools can honor a player at the annual event. In 2019, Azelby was joined by William O'Brien (Brown '92), Paul McCormick (Columbia M.D. '78), George Arangio (Cornell '65 M.D. '69), John Carney, Jr. (Dartmouth '78), Gavin O'Connor (Penn '86), Jason Garrett (Princeton '89) and Kevin Czinger (Yale '81).

Azelby joins nine former Harvard standouts with the recognition: Danny Jiggetts '76, Tommy Lee Jones '69, John Nichols '53, Thomas Stephenson '64, John Chester Culver '54, Joseph O'Donnell '67, Jerry Jordan, Jr. '61, Matt Birk '98 and Michael Corbat '83.