Stewart Named MVP, Ogsbury Elected 146th Football Captain

Stewart Named MVP, Ogsbury Elected 146th Football Captain

Tim Murphy, The Thomas Stephenson Family Head Coach for Harvard Football, announces Wesley Ogsbury as the 146th Crimson football captain (David Silverman).

BOSTON -- At the annual football awards banquet hosted by the Harvard Club of Boston, Tom Stewart was chosen as the winner of the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the most valuable player of the 2018 Harvard football team, as chosen by his teammates.

Rising fifth-year senior Wesley Ogsbury was elected as the 146th captain of Harvard football for the 2019 season, as announced by Tim Murphy, The Thomas Stephenson Family Head Coach of Harvard Football. Also at the banquet, the other recipients of the 2018 team awards were announced.

Outgoing senior tight end Jack Stansell was presented with the Joseph Restic Award for leadership, scholarship, and integrity.

Senior defensive end Alex White was presented with the Henry H. Lamar Award for dedication. Senior captain Zach Miller received the Robert F. Kennedy Award for desire and determination; senior defensive tackle Stone Hart took home the Joseph E. Wolf Award as the team's outstanding interior linemen; and senior defensive tackle Richie Ryan gained the William Paine LaCroix Trophy for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, and loyalty.

In addition, special guest Ben Abercrombie was presented with the game ball from Harvard's win over Yale by his teammates.

Harvard posted a 6-4 overall record and was 4-3 in the Ancient Eight in 2018. The team concluded the season with a 45-27 victory over Yale in The Game at Fenway Park.

2018 Harvard Football Award Winners

Frederick Greeley Crocker Award (MVP): Tom Stewart

Henry H. Lamar Award (dedication to program): Alex White

Joseph E. Wolf Award (top interior lineman): Stone Hart

William Paine LaCroix Trophy (enthusiasm, sportsmanship, loyalty): Richie Ryan

Robert F. Kennedy Award (desire and determination): Zach Miller

Joseph Restic Award (leadership, scholarship and integrity): Jack Stansell

The 146th Harvard Football Captain: Wesley Ogsbury