Pat McInally Set for Nov. 19 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute

Pat McInally Set for Nov. 19 NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute

IRVING, Texas (Nov. 17, 2016) - Harvard University and The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today that they will jointly honor Pat McInally with an NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments. The Salute will take place Nov. 19 in Boston during the 133rd meeting of Harvard and Yale in The Game. Coverage of the game will start at 12:30 p.m. ET on CNBC.

"This is a tremendous honor, of course," McInally said at the press conference announcing the class on Jan. 8. "I think the Football Hall of Fame and the NFF just does so many great things. It's been a tremendous opportunity to come out. Thank you. I was flabbergasted when I found out. Thank you." 

The NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute program, which began with the inaugural class in 1951, has become a hallowed tradition, and to this day the singular events remain the first of numerous activities in each inductee's Hall of Fame experience. During the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, each inductee returns to his alma mater to accept a Hall of Fame plaque that will remain on permanent display at the institution. The events take place on the field during a home game, and many inductees cite the experience as the ultimate capstone to their careers, providing them one more chance to take the field and hear the crowd roar their name.

"Pat McInally was a force at Harvard both on and off the field," said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. "As a senior in 1974, he earned both NFF National Scholar-Athlete and First Team All-America honors. We are thrilled to honor him in front of the Crimson faithful at Harvard Stadium."

A two-time First Team All-Ivy League selection, McInally led Harvard to a share of the 1974 conference title. The 1974 New England Player of the Year finished his career as the Crimson's single-game, single-season and career record-holder for touchdowns and receptions and as the school's leader in career receiving yards. McInally ranked second in the nation in receptions in 1973 and fourth in 1974 while also serving as Harvard's punter. After graduating cum laude, he played in the East-West Shrine Game and the Senior Bowl. McInally is a member of the Harvard University Hall of Fame.

Selected by the Cincinnati Bengals in the fifth round of the 1975 NFL Draft, McInally played both punter and wide receiver for the Bengals from 1976-85. He has the distinction of being the first Harvard graduate ever to play in a Pro Bowl and a Super Bowl, both of which he did in the 1981 season.

McInally has remained active after his playing career, creating Kenner's Starting Lineup action sports figures in 1987, which had more than $700 million in sales over the next 13 years. A prolific writer, he penned the nationally syndicated column, "Pat Answers for Kids," as well as articles for other publications. The owner of the only perfect "50" score ever recorded on the NFL's Wonderlic Test, McInally joined the Wonderlic company to help student athletes prepare for the scholastic aptitude test. He currently serves as the head football coach at Brethren Christian Junior & Senior High School in Huntington Beach, Calif.

McInally becomes the 18th Crimson player to be inducted and the first to have played after World War II, joining Charley Brewer (1892-95), Dave Campbell (1899-1901), Eddie Casey (1916, 1919), Charlie Daly (1898-1900), Hamilton Fish (1907-09), Bob Fisher (1909-11), Huntington Hardwick (1912-14), William Lewis (1892-93), Eddie Mahan (1913-15), Marshall Newell (1890-93), George Owen (1920-22), Endicott Peabody (1939-41), Stan Pennock (1912-14), Bill Reid (1897-99), Ben Ticknor (1928-30), Percy Wendell (1910-12) and Barry Wood (1929-31). Three former Harvard coaches are also in the Hall: Dick Harlow (1935-42, 1945-47), Percy Haughton (1908-16) and Lloyd Jordan (1950-56).

Including the 2016 class, only 977 players and 211 coaches have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame from the nearly 5.19 million people who have played or coached the game over the past 147 years. In other words, only two ten-thousandths of one percent (.0002) of those who have set foot on the gridiron have earned the distinction. Click here for a complete list of players and coaches in the Hall. 

The 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted at the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, held at New York City's historic Waldorf Astoria Hotel on Tuesday, Dec. 6. This year's College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Marlin Briscoe (Nebraska Omaha), Derrick Brooks (Florida State), Tom Cousineau (Ohio State), Randall Cunningham (UNLV), Troy Davis (Iowa State), William Fuller (North Carolina), Bert Jones (LSU), Tim Krumrie (Wisconsin), Pat McInally (Harvard), Herb Orvis (Colorado), Bill Royce (Ashland [Ohio]), Mike Utley (Washington State), Scott Woerner (Georgia), Rod Woodson (Purdue)and coaches Bill Bowes (New Hampshire) and Frank Girardi (Lycoming [Pa.]). For more information, please contact Will Rudd at or by calling 972.556.1000. 

The inductees will also be honored at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Dec. 31, and they will take part in a series of events at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta where their accomplishments will be forever immortalized.

The 2016 season marks the seventh season that Fidelity Investments, a leading provider of not-for-profit workplace retirement savings plans to higher education employees, is serving as the national presenting sponsor of the NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes. The salutes are one component of a multi-year initiative between the two organizations to celebrate the scholar-athlete ideal and a joint commitment to higher education. At the start of the 2014 season, Fidelity became the presenting sponsor of The William V. Campbell Trophy, college football's premier scholar-athlete award, which will be presented for the 27th time in 2016. 

Other highlights of the sponsorship include Fidelity becoming the first presenting sponsor of the organization's prestigious NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards and helping launch the NFF Faculty Salutes Initiative, which recognizes the contributions of the faculty athletics representatives around the country.