Football’s Toner, Braunecker Invited to NFL Combine

Football’s Toner, Braunecker Invited to NFL Combine

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Senior tight end Ben Braunecker and senior offensive lineman Cole Toner of the Harvard football team have been invited to the upcoming 2016 National Football League (NFL) Scouting Combine. The NFL Combine will be held Feb. 23-29, 2016 at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis.

Braunecker and Toner become the fourth and fifth Harvard players to be invited to the Combine, joining Jamil Soriano '03, Ryan Fitzpatrick '05 and Zack Hodges '15. The Harvard duo also marks the first time that two players from the same Ivy League school have been invited to the Combine in a single year.

Braunecker, a native of Ferdinand, Indiana, earned six All-America nods, was a unanimous selection to the All-Ivy League team and received the College Football Performance Awards Tight End Award. Braunecker paced the Crimson with 48 receptions for 850 yards and recently played in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl Jan. 23. Braunecker also caught eight touchdown passes and had four games with more than 100 receiving yards on the season. He concluded his career with 68 career receptions for 1,168 yards and 10 TD grabs.

Toner, who hails from Greenwood, Indiana, was named to the AP FCS All-America team and helped the Crimson average 36.4 points per game this fall, the highest mark in the Ivy League. Harvard also paced the Ancient Eight in total offense (474.2), passing offense (303.5) and rushing offense (170.7). A semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy, or "Academic Heisman", Toner will play in the Reese's Senior Bowl Jan. 30. Toner was selected to the CoSIDA Academic All-District first team, the Academic All-Ivy League team and the All-Ivy first team, after starting nine games this fall.

Ivy Leaguers in the NFL Combine
Craig Morton, Dartmouth (1989)
Marcellus Wiley, Columbia (1997)
Chad Levitt, Cornell (1997)
Mitch Marrow, Penn (1998)
Jim Finn, Penn (1999)
Marek Rubin, Yale (1999)
Dennis Norman, Princeton (2001)
Jamil Soriano, Harvard (2003)
Nate Lawrie, Yale (2004)
Ryan Fitzpatrick, Harvard (2005)
Kevin Boothe, Cornell (2006)
Zak DeOssie, Brown (2007)
Patrick Witt, Yale (2012)
JC Tretter, Cornell (2013)
Jeff Mathews, Cornell (2014)
Caraun Reid, Princeton (2014)
Zack Hodges, Harvard (2015)
Tyler Varga, Yale (2015)
Ben Braunecker, Harvard (2016)
Cole Toner, Harvard (2016)