McInally to be Enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame

McInally to be Enshrined in College Football Hall of Fame

SCOTTSDALE, Ariz. – Harvard football legend Pat McInally '75 is among a class of 14 former players and two coaches from around the country who will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, the National Football Foundation announced Friday, live on ESPNU.

The inductees were selected from a national ballot of 168-All-America players and 32 elite coaches.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Class," said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments."

The announcement of the 2016 Class was made today at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn, the media hotel for the College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship, which will be played on Monday at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona. Several of the inductees, including McInally and Randall Cunningham (UNLV), attended the announcement, representing the class and sharing their thoughts on induction. Members of the class will also participate in pregame festivities and the coin toss on the field during the championship game.

The 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be inducted at the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, 2016 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. The inductees will also be honored at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on Dec. 31, 2016, and they will be recognized at their respective collegiate institutions with on-campus salutes during the fall. Their accomplishments will be forever immortalized at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

Excelling both on and off the field at Harvard, McInally, a tight end was selected as both an NFF National Scholar-Athlete and a first team All-American in 1974. He becomes the 18th Crimson player, and 21st Harvard representative (including former coaches), to enter the College Football Hall of Fame. Harvard is tied with Minnesota, Penn, Pittsburgh and Stanford with the 12th most former players elected to the College Football Hall of Fame.

A two-time first team All-Ivy League selection, McInally led Harvard to a share of the 1974 Ancient Eight title. The 1974 New England Player of the Year finished his career as the Crimson's single-game, single-season and career record-holder for touchdowns and receptions and as the school's leader in career receiving yards. McInally ranked second in the nation in receptions in 1973 and fourth in 1974, while also serving as Harvard's punter. After graduating cum laude, he played in the East-West Shrine Game and the Senior Bowl. McInally is a member of the Harvard Varsity Club Hall of Fame.

Selected by the Cincinnati Bengals in the fifth round (120th overall pick) of the 1975 NFL Draft, McInally played both punter and wide receiver for the Bengals from 1976-85. He has the distinction of being the first Harvard graduate ever to play in a Pro Bowl and a Super Bowl, both of which he did in the 1981 season. In Super Bowl XVI against the San Francisco 49ers, McInally had three punts for a 43.7 average. He concluded his NFL career with 57 receptions, 808 yards, five touchdowns and a 41.9 punt average.

McInally has remained active after his playing career, creating Kenner's Starting Lineup action sports figures in 1987, which had more than $700 million in sales over the next 13 years. A prolific writer, he penned the nationally syndicated column, "Pat Answers for Kids," as well as articles for other publications. The owner of the only perfect "50" score ever recorded on the NFL's Wonderlic Test, McInally joined the Wonderlic company to help student- athletes prepare for the scholastic aptitude test. He currently serves as the head football coach at Brethren Christian Junior & Senior High School in Huntington Beach, California.

Harvard's College Football Hall of Fame Inductees:
1951       Charles D. Daly '01                         Quarterback
               Percy D. Haughton '99                    Coach
               Edward W. Mahan '16                     Fullback
1954       Hamilton Fish '10                            Tackle
               Huntington R. Hardwick '15             End
               Richard C. Harlow                            Coach
               Stanley B. Pennock '15                   Guard
               Benjamin H. Ticknor II '31              Tackle
1957       Marshall Newell '94                         Tackle
1958       David C. Campbell '02                      End
1968       Edward L. Casey '19                        Halfback
1970       William Thomas Reid '01                  Fullback
1971       Charles Brewer '96                          Fullback
1972       Percy Langdon Wendell '13              Halfback
1973       Robert T. Fisherf '12                        Guard
               Endicott Peabody II '42                   Guard
1978       Lloyd Jordan                                   Coach
1980       W. Barry Wood, Jr. '32                    Quarterback
1983       George R. Owen '23                        Halfback
2009       William H. L.S. Lewis '94                 Center
2016       Patrick John McInally '75                 Tight End