Hosch Earns Ivy Offensive Player of the Year Honors

Photo courtesy of the Ivy League
Photo courtesy of the Ivy League

NEW YORK -- Senior quarterback Scott Hosch of the No. 19/19 Harvard football team has been named the recipient of the 2015 Asa S. Bushnell Cup as Ivy League Offensive Player of the Year, in an announcement made at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City Monday afternoon.

Hosch is the 11th Harvard player to receive the Bushnell Cup and the sixth in as many seasons. Tyler Drake of Penn also earned the Bushnell Cup as Ivy Defensive Player of the Year. 

A native of Sugar Hill, Georgia, Hosch set the Harvard single-season passing record by tossing for 2,827 yards this fall. His 22 TDs was the second most for a single-year in program history and he finished eighth in the Crimson record books with 4,255 career passing yards and tied for sixth with 30 career touchdown passes.

The senior signal caller totaled 3,033 yards as a senior, good for second most in school history and he finished his career fourth in career completion percentage (.619) and ninth in career total offense (4,567). Hosch was 15-1 as the Harvard starting quarterback over the last two seasons.

He was named Ivy League Offensive Player of the Week three times this fall and helped the Crimson pace the Ancient Eight in total offense (474.2), passing offense (303.5) and rushing offense (170.7). Hosch threw for a career-high four TDs in the 38-19 win over Yale Nov. 21. He also threw for third most passing yards in school history (437), going 29-of-40 and two TDs vs. Princeton Oct. 24.

Harvard finished 9-1 overall and 6-1 in the Ivy League, earning a share of its third-straight conference championship. The Crimson posted a 5-0 record on the road, and the senior class graduates with a record of 36-4, tying last year's class with the most victories for an Ancient Eight school in the Ivy era (since 1956). Harvard also defeated Yale for a series-record ninth-straight time.

Harvard's Asa S. Bushnell Cup Recipients:
Jim Stoeckel, QB, 1973
Carl Morris, WR, 2000 and 2001
Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, 2004
Chris Pizzotti, QB, 2008
Gino Gordon, RB, 2010
Josue Ortiz, DT, 2011
Colton Chapple, QB, 2012
Zack Hodges, DE, 2013 and 2014
Scott Hosch, QB, 2015