Hosch Named Finalist for Ivy Offensive Player of the Year

Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot
Photo courtesy of Gil Talbot

PRINCETON, N.J. – Senior quarterback Scott Hosch of the No. 19/19 Harvard football team has been chosen as a finalist for the 2015 Asa S. Bushnell Cup, which honors the Ivy League Football Players of the Year.

Hosch is a finalist for the Offensive Player of the Year Award, along with Penn sophomore wide receiver Justin Watson. Dartmouth's Will McNamara and Penn's Tyler Drake are the finalists for Defensive Player of the Year.

The 2015 Bushnell Cup reception, presented by the Pasadena Tournament of Roses, is set for Monday, Dec. 7 at 12:30 p.m., with a special press conference and reception in the Vanderbilt Room of the famed Waldorf Astoria in New York City. This year's presentation will mark the sixth-consecutive year that the National Football Foundation (NFF) has partnered with the Ivy League to recognize the conference's offensive and defensive players of the year.

The presentation will be shown live and free of charge on the Ivy League Digital Network (ILDN).

The offensive and defensive finalists, along with their respective head coaches, will be on hand as Ivy League Executive Director Robin Harris unveils the winners' names in front of a packed crowd of media representatives, NFF Board members and Ivy League football alumni, dignitaries and friends.

Hosch set the Harvard single-season passing record by tossing for 2,827 yards this fall. His 22 TDs was the second most for a single-year in program history and he finished eighth in the Crimson record books with 4,255 career passing yards and tied for sixth with 30 career touchdown passes.

Hosch, a native of Sugar Hill, Georgia, totaled 3,033 yards as a senior, good for second most in school history and he finished his career fourth in career completion percentage (.619) and ninth in career total offense (4,567). Hosch was 15-1 as the Harvard starting quarterback over the last two seasons.

He was named Ivy League Offensive Player of the Week three times this fall and helped the Crimson pace the Ancient Eight in total offense (474.2), passing offense (303.5) and rushing offense (170.7). Hosch threw for a career-high four TDs in the 38-19 win over Yale Nov. 21. He also threw for third most passing yards in school history (437), going 29-of-40 and two TDs vs. Princeton Oct. 24.

Harvard finished 9-1 overall and 6-1 in the Ivy League, earning a share of its third-straight conference championship. The Crimson posted a 5-0 record on the road, and the senior class graduates with a record of 36-4, tying last year's class with the most victories for an Ancient Eight school in the Ivy era (since 1956). Harvard also defeated Yale for a series-record ninth-straight time.

Presented annually since 1970, The Asa S. Bushnell Cup honors its namesake, a 1921 Princeton alumnus and the commissioner of the Eastern College Athletic Conference from 1938 to 1970. The Bushnell Cup is awarded by a vote of the Ivy League's eight head football coaches to the players who display outstanding qualities of leadership, competitive spirit, contribution to the team and accomplishments on the field.

From 1970 to 2010, the Bushnell Cup recognized an Ivy League Player of the Year (or co-Players of the Year if there was a tie in voting). Beginning with the 2010 season, the award was presented as a part of the festivities surrounding the NFF Annual Awards Dinner with four finalists named a week prior to the presentation. Beginning with the 2011 season, the award began recognizing Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, honoring each as a recipient of the Bushnell Cup. Two offensive finalists and two defensive finalists are named with the Players of the Year unveiled at the presentation.


All-Time Recipient List
1970 - Jim Chasey, QB, Dartmouth & Ed Marinaro, RB, Cornell
1971 - Ed Marinaro, RB, Cornell
1972 - Dick Jauron, RB, Yale
1973 - Jim Stoeckel, QB, Harvard
1974 - Walt Snickenberger, RB, Princeton
1975 - Doug Jackson, RB, Columbia
1976 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1977 - John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1978 - Buddy Teevens, QB, Dartmouth
1979 - Tim Tumpane, LB, Yale
1980 - Kevin Czinger, MG, Yale
1981 - Rich Diana, RB, Yale
1982 - John Witkowski, QB, Columbia
1983 - Derrick Harmon, RB, Cornell
1984 - Tim Chambers, DB, Penn
1985 - Tom Gilmore, DT, Penn
1986 - Rich Comizio, RB, Penn
1987 - Kelly Ryan, QB, Yale
1988 - Jason Garrett, QB, Princeton
1989 - Judd Garrett, RB, Princeton
1990 - Shon Page, RB, Dartmouth
1991 - Al Rosier, RB, Dartmouth
1992 - Jay Fiedler, QB, Dartmouth
1993 - Keith Elias, RB, Princeton
1994 - Pat Goodwillie, LB, Penn
1995 - Dave Patterson, LB, Princeton
1996 - Chad Levitt, RB, Cornell
1997 - Sean Morey, WR, Brown
1998 - Jim Finn, RB, Penn
1999 - James Perry, QB, Brown
2000 - Gavin Hoffman, QB, Penn
2001 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2002 - Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2003 - Mike Mitchell, QB, Penn
2004 - Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, Harvard
2005 - Nick Hartigan, RB, Brown
2006 - Jeff Terrell, QB, Princeton
2007 - Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
2008 - Chris Pizzotti, QB, Harvard
2009 - Buddy Farnham, WR, Brown & Jake Lewko, LB, Penn
2010 - Gino Gordon, RB, Harvard & Nick Schwieger, RB, Dartmouth
2011 - Offensive Player of the Year: Jeff Mathews, QB, Cornell
           Defensive Player of the Year: Josue Ortiz, DT, Harvard
2012 - Offensive Player of the Year: Colton Chapple, QB, Harvard
           Defensive Player of the Year: Mike Catapano, DL, Princeton
2013 - Offensive Player of the Year: Quinn Epperly, QB, Princeton
           Defensive Player of the Year: Zack Hodges, DL, Harvard
2014 - Offensive Player of the Year: Tyler Varga, TB, Yale
           Co-Defensive Players of the Year: Zack Hodges, DL, Harvard & Mike Zeuli, LB, Princeton