Hodges Tabbed MVP; Hayes Named 141st Harvard Football Captain

Hodges Tabbed MVP; Hayes Named 141st Harvard Football Captain

Norman Hayes was named as the 141st captain of Harvard football on Nov. 25, 2013 at the Harvard Club of Boston (David Silverman).

BOSTON -- At the annual football awards banquet hosted by the Harvard Club of Boston, junior defensive end Zach Hodges was chosen as the winner of the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the most valuable player of the 2013 Harvard football team, as chosen by his teammates.

Rising senior defensive back Norman Hayes was honored as the 141st captain of Harvard football for the 2014 season as announced by Tim Murphy, The Thomas Stephenson Family Head Coach of Harvard football. Also at the banquet, the other recipients of the 2013 team awards were announced.

Outgoing senior defensive back Brian Owusu was presented with the second annual Joe Restic Award for leadership, scholarship, and integrity.

Senior defensive tackle Jack Dittmer was presented the Lamar Award for dedication; senior captain and linebacker Joshua Boyd received the Kennedy Award for desire and determination; senior offensive linemen Austin Scheufele and senior defensive tackle Nnamdi Obukwelu shared the Wolf Award as the team's outstanding interior linemen; and senior defensive back D.J. Monroe gained the LaCroix Trophy for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, and loyalty.

Hodges finished his junior campaign with 40 tackles and ranked second in the Ivy League with 11.5 tackles for a loss.  He stands fifth in school history with 18.5 career sacks. He ranked fifth in the nation with four forced fumbles and recovered three fumbles on the year, including one for a 53-yard TD return at San Diego. The linebacker was recently tabbed to the watch list for the Buck Buchanan Award, given to the nation’s top defender.

Dittmer played in 39 games over the last three seasons, battling through an ankle injury that occurred during the Princeton game this year. The senior offensive tackle recorded at least one tackle in all but two games this fall, including one in the win over Yale on Saturday in The Game.

Boyd, the 140th captain in the history of Harvard football, is a two-time All-Ivy choice, including a unanimous first team selection last year. For his career, he amassed 203 tackles, 13.5 tackles for a loss and 6.0 sacks

Scheufele started each of the last 30 games in his career and led a dominant offensive line that has established multiple program records over the last few seasons.  This season, the Crimson broke a program record by completing 67.0 percent of passes.

Owusu led the senior class with 113 career tackles.  He has defended 13 passes, forced three fumbles and made four interceptions.

Obukwelu, a two-time All-Ivy League honoree, played in 39 games over his career and started the last 29 contests in which he appeared in. He registered a career-high 37 tackles as a junior in 2012 and 31 stops during his senior campaign. He graduates with 20.5 tackles for a loss and 8.5 sacks during his career.

Monroe, an All-Ivy League honorable mention choice last year, started all 20 games over the last two years.  He leads the nation in passes defended and is tied for the team lead in interceptions and ranked second with 64 tackles while breaking up a conference-best 16 passes.  In The Game, Monroe recovered a fumble and registered five tackles against Yale.

Harvard went 9-1 overall and claimed a share of the 2013 Ivy League title, the program’s 15th Ancient Eight crown and seventh under Coach Murphy. The Crimson’s 9-1 record marks the sixth time Harvard has accumulated nine or more wins under coach Murphy. Harvard defeated Yale, 34-7, to extend the Crimson’s longest win streak over the Bulldogs to seven straight victories. The win was Harvard’s 250th Ivy League win overall, marking it the first Ivy League team to reach that landmark victory total.

2013 Harvard Football Award Winners

Frederick Greeley Crocker Award (MVP) Zach Hodges

Henry H. Lamar Award (dedication to program) Jack Dittmer

Joseph E. Wolf Award (top interior lineman)
Austin Scheufele and Nnamdi Obukwelu

William Paine LaCroix Trophy (enthusiasm, sportsmanship, loyalty)
D.J. Monroe

Robert F. Kennedy Award (desire and determination)
Joshua Boyd

Joseph Restic Award
Brian Owusu

The 141st Harvard Football Captain
Norman Hayes