Chapple Named MVP; Boyd Named 140th Captain of Harvard Football

Joshua Boyd was named as the 140th captain of Harvard football on November 19, 2012 at the Harvard Club of Boston (Justine Agaloos) Buy Now
Joshua Boyd was named as the 140th captain of Harvard football on November 19, 2012 at the Harvard Club of Boston (Justine Agaloos)

BOSTON, Mass. – At the annual football awards banquet hosted by the Harvard Club of Boston, senior quarterback Colton Chapple was chosen as the winner of the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the most valuable player of the 2012 Harvard football team, as chosen by his teammates.

Rising senior linebacker Joshua Boyd was honored as the 140th captain of Harvard football for the 2013 season as announced by head coach Tim Murphy. Also at the banquet, the other recipients of the 2012 team awards were announced.

Outgoing senior captain Bobby Schneider was presented with the inaugural Joe Restic Award for leadership, scholarship, and integrity with members of Restic's family attending the night's festivities.

Senior linebacker Jonathan Mason was presented the Lamar Award for dedication; senior H-back/tight end Kyle Juszczyk received the Kennedy Award for desire and determination; senior center Jack Holuba and senior defensive end John Lyon shared the Wolf Award as the team's outstanding interior linemen; and senior running back Treavor Scales gained the LaCroix Trophy for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, and loyalty.

Chapple finished the season as the second-rated passer in the country. He owned single-season records for touchdown passes, totaling 24 touchdown passes to surpass the previous high-water mark of 18. He also set the single-season record for total offense, accounting for nearly 320 yards of offense per game, on 66 percent passing while rushing for 602 yards and nine touchdowns.

Mason played in all 10 games, playing a major role at linebacker for one of the nation's stingiest defenses. It marked his first full season as a member of the team after enduring nine knee surgeries with two more already scheduled for this offseason.  

Juszczyk is an All-America candidate once again this season after leading the team with 52 receptions for 706 yards and eight touchdowns. For his career, he set the mark for all Harvard tight ends with 125 catches for 1,576 yards and 22 touchdowns.

Holuba started each of the last 18 games in his career and was the centerpiece of an offense that ranked fourth nationally in scoring offense with an Ivy-League record 39.4 points per game. Harvard ranked fourth nationally at over 487 yards of offense per game and was incredibly consistent with both the rushing and passing games ranking among the top 20 nationally.

Lyon started an impressive 39 games during his career, graduating with 18.0 tackles for a loss during his career and 11.5 sacks. An exceptionally athletic lineman, he had his most production season, ranking among the top 20 nationally with 10.0 tackles for a loss and 7.5 sacks.

Scales capped an impressive career on Saturday with a 63 yard touchdown run to solidify Harvard's 34-24 win over Yale in the 129th playing of The Game. His run pushed him over the 1,000-yard barrier for the first time in his career, making him the only Ivy Leaguer to reach the milestone this season. For his career, he gained over 2,800 hundred yards on the ground, 3,000 yards from scrimmage and scored 29 touchdowns – the second most rushing TDs in school history.  

Harvard went 8-2 overall and defeated Yale, 34-24 to earn a program-record sixth straight win over the Bulldogs as well as the 11th victory over the Elis in the last 12 years. The season marked Harvard's Ivy League-record 12th-straight season with at least seven wins – with no other Ivy team even having seven such seasons.

2012 Harvard Football Award Winners

Frederick Greeley Crocker Award (MVP) Colton Chapple

Henry H. Lamar Award (dedication to program) Jonathan Mason

Joseph E. Wolf Award (top interior lineman) Jack Holuba and John Lyon

William Paine LaCroix Trophy (enthusiasm, sportsmanship, loyalty) Treavor Scales

Robert F. Kennedy Award (desire and determination) Kyle Juszczyk

Joseph Restic Award Bobby Schneider

The 140th Harvard Football Captain Joshua Boyd