Harvard's Juszczyk, Ortiz Named All-America by The Sports Network

Kyle Juszczyk in action during a 31-3 non-conference win at Lafayette on Oct. 1, 2011 Buy Now
Kyle Juszczyk in action during a 31-3 non-conference win at Lafayette on Oct. 1, 2011

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. – Harvard placed two players on the 2011 The Sports Network/ All-America team, released on Monday. Junior tight end/H-back Kyle Juszczyk was named to the second team and senior defensive tackle Josue Ortiz was named to the third team. Harvard was the only Ivy League school with honorees to the three-team list.

Harvard has had at least one All-American in each of the last 13 years. 

Juszczyk led all Ivy League tight ends and led Harvard receivers with 37 receptions, compiling 512 yards and seven touchdowns. The seven TDs tied for the team lead as well as the most among Ivy tight ends.

His versatility often provided matchups problems for opposing teams as the 6 foot 3, 240-pound Juszczyk played virtually every down and lined up at H-back, tight end, slot and wide receiver positions. He also played on all special teams.

He caught passes in every game and had two-touchdown games against Bucknell and Columbia. He had seven catches against the Lions for a career-best 118 yards while also catching seven passes for 107 yards at Yale.  

Ortiz was earlier honored on the 2011 Associated Press FCS Football All-America team for a second-straight season. He was also named New England's outstanding senior and the Ivy League Defensive Player of the Year last week.

On December 8, Ortiz was named the recipient of the Harry Agganis/Harold Zimman Award, presented by the New England Football Writers Association. The Agganis Award is presented annually to the most outstanding senior football player in New England. Ortiz is the fourth Harvard player to earn the award since its inception in 1966. Carl Morris (2002), Pat McInally (1974) and Bobby Leo (1966) are the others.

On December 5, Ortiz was the recipient of the Asa S. Buchnell Cup as the Ivy League's Defensive Player of the Year in a ceremony at New York's Waldorf=Astoria Hotel.

Ortiz was a unanimous choice among the Ivy coaches after leading the league with 10 solo sacks. He ranked fourth in the league with 14.5 tackles for a loss and had two fumble recoveries and a forced fumble. A 2010 Associated Press All-American, Ortiz earned Harvard's team MVP honors.

Ortiz was also named to the All-New England first team as the lone repeat performer from 2010.

Harvard went 9-1 overall and undefeated in the Ivy League, defeating Yale, 45-7 to earn its 10th victory over the Bulldogs in the last 11 years while recording the widest margin of victory since 1982. The season marked Harvard's Ivy League-record 11th-straight season with at least seven wins – with no other Ivy team even having seven such seasons.

All nine of Harvard's victories came by double figures with eight of the wins coming by at least 14 points.

Harvard's senior class went undefeated against five of the Ivy League's seven programs including Yale and Princeton.

FIRST-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington, Sr., or Chris Lum, Lehigh, Sr.; RB - Shakir Bell, Indiana State, So.; Terrance West, Towson, Fr.; FB - Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Jr.; WR - Aaron Mellette, Elon, Jr.; Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington, Jr.; Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, Jr.; TE - Colin Anderson, Furman, Jr.; OT - Chris Crockett, Sam Houston State, Sr.; Brett Moore, Georgia Southern, Sr.; OG - Gino Gradkowski, Delaware, Sr.; Nate Page, Wofford, Sr.; C - Travis Watson, Sam Houston State, Sr.; PK - Zach Brown, Portland State, Sr.; KR - Kevin Fogg, Liberty, Jr.

FIRST-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Adrian Hamilton, Prairie View A&M, Sr.; Andrew Schaetzke, Georgetown, Sr.; DT - Ronnie Cameron, Old Dominion, Sr.; Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Jr.; LB - Wes Dothard, Chattanooga, So.; Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Jr.; L.J. Fort, Northern Iowa, Sr.; Caleb McSurdy, Montana, Sr.; CB - Bryce Robertson, Bucknell, Sr.; Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, So.; S - Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Jr.; Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Jr.; P - David Harrington, Idaho State, Sr.; C.J. Estelle, UT Martin, Sr.

SECOND-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Bo Levi Mitchell, Eastern Washington, Sr., or Chris Lum, Lehigh, Sr.; RB - Tim Flanders, Sam Houston State, So.; Jonathan Grimes, William & Mary, Sr.; FB - Jake Romanelli, Cal Poly, Sr.; WR - Tim Benford, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; Brian Quick, Appalachian State, Sr.; Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State, Jr.; TE - Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard, Jr.; OT - Paul Cornick, North Dakota State, Sr.; Blake Matthews, Norfolk State, Jr.; OG - D.J. Hall, Texas State, Sr.; J.C. Oram, Weber State, Sr.; C - Bryan Boemer, Southern Illinois, Sr.; PK - Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa, So.; KR - Laron Scott, Georgia Southern, Sr.

SECOND-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Ryan Davis, Bethune-Cookman, Sr.; Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, So.; DT - Ben Boothby, Northern Iowa, Sr.; Zach Minter, Montana State, Jr.; LB - Seth Allison, Central Arkansas, Jr.; Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Jr.; Blake Pfeifer, SE Missouri State, So.; Keith Pough, Howard, Jr.; CB - Trumaine Johnson, Montana, Sr.; Josh Norman, Coastal Carolina, Sr.; S - Justin Bethel, Presbyterian, Sr.; Alex Sewall, Indiana State, Sr.; P - Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Jr.; PR - Darius Carey, McNeese State, Jr.

THIRD-TEAM OFFENSE: QB - Casey Brockman, Murray State, Jr.; RB - Jordan Brown, Bryant, Jr.; Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook, Jr.; FB - Brock Lough, Indiana State, Sr.; WR - Tre Gray, Richmond, Sr.; Chris Summers, Liberty, Sr.; Patrick Walker, Northern Colorado, Sr.; TE - Renty Rollins, Jackson State, Sr.; OT - Conrad Burbank, Montana State, Sr.; Tom Compton, South Dakota, Sr.; Orry Frye, Appalachian State, Sr.; OG - Joe Faiella, Stony Brook, Sr.; Scott Schweitzer, Tennessee Tech, Sr.; C - Jim Liebler, Lehigh, Sr.; PK - Adrian Mora, Georgia Southern, Sr.; KR - Austin Minefee, Southern Utah, Sr.

THIRD-TEAM DEFENSE: DE - Corey Hart, Alabama A&M, Sr.; Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Jr.; DT - Emory Attig, Eastern Kentucky, Jr.; Josue Ortiz, Harvard, Sr.; LB - Rico Council, Tennessee State, Sr.; Jody Owens, Montana State, Jr.; Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford, Jr.; A.J. Storms, Idaho State, Sr.; CB - Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Sr.; Ryan Steed, Furman, Sr.; S - Jose Gumbs, Monmouth, Sr.; Serge Kona, Duquesne, Jr.; P - Patrick Murray, Fordham, Jr.; PR - Jabin Sambrano, Montana, Sr.

Note: The order of the first- and second-team All-America quarterbacks will released after the unveiling of the 2011 Walter Payton Award on Jan. 6.