Gordon, Ortiz, Zych Headline Harvard's All-Ivy League Football Selections

Gino Gordon (22) is lifted high in the air by Brent Osborne (70) as the pair celebrate Gordon's 5-yard TD run during a 23-7 win over Columbia on Nov. 6, 2010 (Gil Talbot/ Harvard Athletics) Buy Now
Gino Gordon (22) is lifted high in the air by Brent Osborne (70) as the pair celebrate Gordon's 5-yard TD run during a 23-7 win over Columbia on Nov. 6, 2010 (Gil Talbot/ Harvard Athletics)

PRINCETON, N.J. – Harvard running back Gino Gordon, defensive back Collin Zych and defensive tackle Josue Ortiz were all named to the All-Ivy League first team in an announcement made Tuesday afternoon by the league office. In all, Harvard had 13 players earn All-Ivy League accolades.

There were just four unanimous selections in the coaches' selections with two on defense being Harvard's Ortiz and Zych.

In addition to its three first team selections, Harvard had eight players named to the second team and two to the honorable mention team.

Named to the second team were offensive linemen Chris LeRoy, Brent Osborne and Kevin Murphy, running back Treavor Scales, defensive lineman Chuks Obi, linebackers Alex Gedeon and Nick Hasselberg and defensive back Matthew Hanson. A pair of players at the tight end position were named to the honorable mention team with Nicolai Schwarzkopf and Kyle Juszczyk getting the nods.

Gordon, who Monday night earned Harvard's Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the most valuable player of the 2010 Harvard football team, as chosen by his teammates, ran for 1,059 yards this season, the seventh-highest single-season mark at Harvard. He led the Ivy League at 6.3 yards per carry and became just the fifth player at Harvard to record 10 rushing touchdowns in a single season. For his career, he ran for 2,643 yards – the fourth-highest mark in school annals. He ran for 23 touchdowns and had 25 scores in all. Gordon will graduate as Harvard's all-time leader in yards per carry at 5.3. 

Zych turned in another tremendous season as Harvard's defensive leader. He tied for the team lead with 79 tackles this season and ranked third in the Ivy League in total passes defended with 12. Last year he led the league with 14 pass defenses. He finishes his career with 224 total tackles, 10.5 for a loss, six interceptions and 27 pass breakups.

Ortiz led the Ivy League in both sacks (7.5) and tackles for a loss (13.5), becoming just the second defensive tackle at Harvard to lead his team in those categories. He also ranked third overall with 54 total tackles. He recorded at least one tackle behind the line of scrimmage in all but two games this season.

Osborne earned all-league honors for a second-straight year. Alongside LeRoy and Murphy, the Crimson ran for at least 300 yards in three different games this season for the first time under head coach Tim Murphy.

Scales, last year's league rookie of the year, turned in a fine sophomore season and ranked second to Gordon among league backs at 6.0 yards per carry. He gained 520 yards on 87 carries and scored three touchdowns.

Obi, an all-league selection last season despite missing two games to injury, collected 47 tackles this season to rank fifth on the team while making a season-high 12 stops in the season-ending win over Yale.

Hasselberg tied Zych for the team lead with 79 tackles thanks in large part to an impressive game against Yale in the season finale. Hasselberg tied a program record with 20 tackles in the game and finished his season with 4.0 tackles for a loss, 2.0 sacks and five QB hurries.

Gedeon missed a game to injury but still managed 49 tackles, 4.0 of them for a loss. He also had a pair of interceptions. 

Hanson also appeared in nine games and made 41 tackles (25 solo) while intercepting one pass and breaking up six more.

Harvard went 7-3 overall and 5-2 in the Ivy League in 2010 season, defeating Yale, 28-21 to earn its ninth victory over the Bulldogs in the last 10 years. The season marked Harvard's Ivy League-record 10th-straight season with at least seven wins – with no other Ivy team even having seven such seasons.

The 2010 Ivy League Player of the Year award (Asa Bushnell Cup) will be presented Dec. 6 at the Waldorf=Astoria in New York, N.Y.



QB -- Jeff Mathews, Cornell*


OL -- Patrick Conroy, Brown
OL -- Jeff Adams, Columbia
OL -- Ryan O'Neill, Dartmouth
OL -- Joe D'Orazio, Penn
OL -- Luis Ruffolo, Penn
OL -- Greg Van Roten, Penn
QB -- Sean Brackett, Columbia
QB -- Billy Ragone, Penn
RB -- Nick Schwieger, Dartmouth
RB -- Gino Gordon, Harvard
FB -- Luke DeLuca, Penn
WR -- Alexander Tounkara, Brown
WR -- Tim McManus, Dartmouth
WR -- Trey Peacock, Princeton*
TE -- Andrew Kennedy, Columbia 

DL -- Charles Bay, Dartmouth
DL -- Josue Ortiz, Harvard*
DL -- Brandon Copeland, Penn
DL -- Tom McCarthy, Yale
LB -- Alex Gross, Columbia
LB -- Erik Rask, Penn
LB -- Zack Heller, Penn
LB -- Jordan Haynes, Yale
DB -- A.J. Cruz, Brown
DB -- Calvin Otis, Columbia
DB -- Shawn Abuhoff, Dartmouth
DB -- Collin Zych, Harvard*
DB -- Josh Powers, Penn
DB -- Adam Money, Yale

Special Teams
PK -- Patrick Jacob, Princeton
P -- Drew Alston, Cornell
RS -- Shawn Abuhoff, Dartmouth*


OL -- Brian Ellixson, Brown
OL -- Austen Fletcher, Dartmouth
OL -- Chris LeRoy, Harvard
OL -- Kevin Murphy, Harvard
OL -- Brent Osborne, Harvard
OL -- Drew Luango, Penn
QB -- Patrick Witt, Yale
RB -- Trevor Scales, Harvard
RB -- Brandon Colavita, Penn
RB -- Alex Thomas, Yale
WR -- Andrew Kerr, Princeton
WR -- Chris Smith, Yale
TE -- John Gallagher, Dartmouth
TE -- Chris Blohm, Yale

DL -- Jeremy Raducha, Brown
DL -- Josh Martin, Columbia
DL -- Chucks Obi, Harvard
DL -- Drew Goldsmith, Penn
LB -- Andrew Serrano, Brown
LB -- Alex Gedeon, Harvard
LB -- Nick Hasselberg, Harvard
LB -- Jon Olofsson, Princeton
DB -- Steve Peyton, Brown
DB -- Emani Fenton, Cornell
DB -- Matthew Hanson, Harvard
DB -- Matt Hamscher, Penn

Special Teams
PK -- Alexander Norocea, Brown
P -- Joe Cloud, Princeton
RS -- Chris Smith, Yale

OL -- Jack Geiger, Brown
OL -- Jared Mollenback, Penn
OL -- Jake Koury, Yale
RB -- Mark Kachmer, Brown
RB -- Jordan Culbreath, Princeton
HB -- Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard
WR -- Jimmy Saros, Brown
WR -- Nico Gutierrez, Columbia
WR -- Michael Reilly, Dartmouth
TE -- Nicolai Schwarzkopf, Harvard
TE -- Luke Nawrocki, Penn
DL -- Clay McGrath, Brown
DL -- Brian Wing, Penn
DL -- Mike Catapano, Princeton
DL -- Sean Williams, Yale
LB -- Chimoso Okoji, Brown
LB -- Zack Imhoff, Cornell
LB -- Luke Hussey, Dartmouth
LB -- Brian Levine, Penn
LB -- Andrew Starks, Princeton
DB -- Adam Mehrer, Columbia
DB -- Bradford Blackmon, Penn
DB -- Drew Baldwin, Yale
PK -- Foley Schmidt, Dartmouth
PK -- Andrew Samson, Penn
P -- Nate Lovett, Brown
P -- Scott Lopano, Penn
RS -- Bradford Blackmon, Penn

*Unanimous Selection