Gino Gordon Named MVP; Alex Gedeon Named 138th Captain of Harvard Football

Alex Gedeon hits Princeton's Jordan Culbreath on a RB pass play in the third quarter of a 45-28 Harvard win at Princeton on Oct. 23, 2010 Buy Now
Alex Gedeon hits Princeton's Jordan Culbreath on a RB pass play in the third quarter of a 45-28 Harvard win at Princeton on Oct. 23, 2010

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – At the annual football awards banquet hosted by the Harvard Club of Boston, senior running back Gino Gordon was chosen as the winner of the Frederick Greeley Crocker Award as the most valuable player of the 2010 Harvard football team, as chosen by his teammates.

Rising senior linebacker Alex Gedeon was honored as the 138th captain of Harvard football for the 2011 season as announced by head coach Tim Murphy. Also at the banquet, the other recipients of the 2010 team awards were announced.

Senior wide receiver Michael Cook was presented the Lamar Award for dedication; senior free safety and outgoing captain Collin Zych received the Kennedy Award for desire and determination; senior offensive tackle Brent Osborne and senior defensive tackle Chuks Obi shared the Wolf Award as the team's outstanding interior linemen; and senior center Chris LeRoy gained the LaCroix Trophy for enthusiasm, sportsmanship, and loyalty.

Gordon ran for 1,059 yards this season, the seventh-highest single-season mark at Harvard. He led the Ivy League at 6.3 yards per carry became just the fifth player at Harvard to record 10 rushing touchdowns in a single season. For his career, he ran for 2,643 yards – the fourth-highest mark in school annals. He ran for 23 touchdowns and had 25 scores in all. Gordon will graduate as Harvard's all-time leader in yards per carry at 5.3. 

Cook became an increasingly important figure in Harvard's passing and run-blocking games over the past two seasons. A former quarterback, Cook caught 50 career passes for 556 yards and three touchdowns while running for 128 more yards.

Zych turned in another tremendous season as Harvard's defensive leader. He tied for the team lead with 79 tackles this season and ranked third in the Ivy League in total passes defended with 12. Last year he led the league with 14 pass defenses. He finishes his career with 224 total tackles, 10.5 for a loss, six interceptions and 27 pass breakups.

Osborne started 19 of his last 20 games and was an important presence on an offensive line that had four newcomers coming into the season.

Obi, an All-Ivy Leaguer last season despite missing two games to injury, collected 47 tackles this season to rank fifth on the team while making a season-high 12 stops in the season-ending win over Yale.

LeRoy earned perhaps the bigger applause of the night for his award. A starter at center in all 10 games, he also served as the team's long snapper as he directed a unit that paved the way for a trio of 300-yard rushing games.

Harvard went 7-3 overall and 5-2 in the Ivy League in 2010 season, defeating Yale, 28-21 to earn its ninth victory over the Bulldogs in the last 10 years. The season marked Harvard's Ivy League-record 10th-straight season with at least seven wins – with no other Ivy team even having seven such seasons.

2010 Harvard Football Award Winners

Frederick Greeley Crocker Award (MVP) Gino Gordon

Henry H. Lamar Award (dedication to program) Michael Cook

Joseph E. Wolf Award (top interior lineman) Brent Osborne and Chuks Obi

William Paine LaCroix Trophy (enthusiasm, sportsmanship, loyalty) Chris LeRoy

Robert F. Kennedy Award (desire and determination) Collin Zych

The 138th Harvard Football Captain Alex Gedeon