Four Named All-New England In Football

Four Named All-New England In Football

Derrick Barker and Jon Takamura (45) celebrate Takamura's interception in the waning moments of this year's win at Yale. Both players were named All-New England by area media.(Dave Silverman) 

BOSTON, Mass. - Four Harvard football players have been named to the New England Football Writers' Football Championship Subdivision All-Star Team in an announcement by Northeastern Associate Athletic Director Jack Grinold on Wednesday.  

Offensive linemen James Williams makes his second consecutive appearance on the team and is joined by senior defensive tackle Carl Ehrlich, senior linebacker Jon Takamura and senior defensive back Derrick Barker.  

Harvard has the most selections of any school from the region, tying New Hampshire and Holy Cross.

The team, which represents all 13 schools, will be honored at the annual New England Football Writers Captains and Awards Banquet on Thursday, December 10, 2009 at Casa Di Fior in Wilmington, Mass.

The squad of 30 features 28 seniors, one junior and one sophomore. Four conferences are represented with the Colonial Athletic Association sending 12 selections, the Ivy League contributing 10, and the Patriot League and the Northeastern Conference each adding four players.

Williams, a two-time All-America selection with this year's selections still pending, has started every game since his sophomore season and is considered one the nation's top offensive linemen in this year's NFL Draft.

Barker finished the year tied for third in pass breakups (10) and fourth in passes defended (11), marking the third-straight season that he has had those exact figures.

Ehrlich had 36 tackles, tying for tops on the team in sacks (4) and second in tackles for loss (6.0).

Takamura had a tremendous senior season with 47 tackles (third on the team) and team leaders in interceptions (4) and sacks (4) while placing second in tackles for a loss with six. Two of his interceptions sealed Harvard victories (Brown, Yale) and he returned an interception for a touchdown in a win at Lehigh.

2009 New England Football Writer's FCS All-Star Team

DL    James Develin    Brown    Sr.
DL    Don Smith    Bryant    Sr.
DL    Jordan Stevens    Maine    Sr.
DL    Carl Ehrlich    Harvard    Sr.
LB    Paul Rice    Yale    Sr.
LB    Sean Ware    New Hampshire    Sr.
LB    Jon Takamura    Harvard    Sr.
LB    Marcus Rodriguez    Holy Cross    Sr.
DB    Terrence Klein    New Hampshire    Sr.
DB    Marcus Dorsey    Central Conn.    Sr.
DB    Michael Wright    Holy Cross    Sr.
DB    Derrick Barker    Harvard    Sr.
DB    Jeromy Miles    Massachusetts    Sr.

OL    Paul Jasinowski    Brown    Sr.
OL    James Williams    Harvard    Sr.
OL    Chris Poole    Holy Cross    Sr.
OL    Vladimir Ducasse    Massachusetts    Sr.
OL    Kevin Newhall    Northeastern    Sr.
OL    Tom Neill    New Hampshire    Sr.
QB    Dominic Randolph    Holy Cross    Sr.
RB    James Mallory    Central Conn.    Sr.
RB    John Griffin    Northeastern    Jr.
FB    Chris Zardas    Massachusetts    Sr.
WR    Buddy Farnham    Brown    Sr.
WR    Steve Tedesco    Sacred Heart    Sr.
WR    Landis Williams    Maine    Sr.
WR    Shawn Leonard    Rhode Island    Sr.
TE    Scott Sicko    New Hampshire    Sr.

KS    Tom Mante    Yale    Sr.
RS    Shawn Abuhoff    Dartmouth    So.