Baseball One-Hits Northeastern in Beanpot Semifinals, 4-3 

Baseball One-Hits Northeastern in Beanpot Semifinals, 4-3 

BRIGHTON, Mass. - The Harvard baseball team (14-6, 4-2 Ivy) will look to repeat as Beanpot Champions after defeating Northeastern (14-14, 4-2 CAA), 4-3, Tuesday night in the Beanpot semifinals at Boston College. The team will take on Massachusetts, April 17 at Fenway Park. 

Northeastern struck first with two runs in the first inning, despite not registering a hit off senior starter Kevin Stone. The game would remain hitless until the fifth inning, when Harvard would take lead with a two-out rally. The scoring began with a bases loaded walk to junior Jake Suddleson. Classmate Hunter Bigge followed, reaching on a fielding error by the shortstop, scoring first-year Hunter Baldwin from third. Junior Chad Minato hit a single through the right side of the infield, scoring Bigge and Suddleson to make the score 4-2.

Northeastern answered back in the bottom half of the inning, stringing together a pair of walks, but senior left hander John Maclean ended the inning with a strikeout to strand three Huskies on the base-paths.

The bullpen held things down from there on out, first-year Harrison Stovern struck out two batters in the eighth inning, paving the way for junior Kieran Shaw to knock them down in order in the ninth inning to earn his ninth save of the season. 

Harvard Highlights:

  • Harvard will play in its fourth Beanpot Championship in the past six years, looking to go back-to-back for the first time in program history. 
  • Stone earns his second win of the season, pitching five innings of no-hit baseball, striking out two.
  • With his ninth save of the season, Shaw continues to increase his program record for saves in a single-season. 
  • Minato increases his hit streak to 13 games with a crucial RBI single in the fifth inning. 
  • Harvard pitching held Northeastern to just one hit in the contest. 

Up Next:
Harvard will return its focus to Ivy League play, hosting Yale for a three game series at O'Donnell Field, beginning with a Saturday doubleheader at 11:30 a.m. All three games will be broadcast on ESPN+.