Sophomore Stampede Helps Men’s Cross Country Top Yale in Annual Showdown

James Leakos led the Harvard men to their fourth win in the last five years against Yale Saturday (Harvard Athletic Communications).

2011 HY(P) Meet Highlights

While Yale had a significant edge in experience coming into the race, the underclassmen came up huge for the Harvard men, as the Crimson posted a convincing 23-34 victory over the Bulldogs Saturday at Franklin Park in the annual HY(P) meet. The Harvard women took third in a tri-meet with Yale and Princeton, with the Tigers claiming their ninth-consecutive victory in the competition.    

Sophomore James Leakos captured the individual title for Harvard, running a time of 24:21 on the 8-kilometer course to win by a three-second margin. Rookie Billy Orman ran like a veteran in his first collegiate 8K, placing second overall in a time of 24:24 to set the tone for the host Crimson. Sophomore Kurt Ruegg was Harvard's next finisher, placing fifth in the race in a time of 24:41 and classmate Maksim Korolev was right behind in sixth, posting a time of 24:44. Sophomore Kellen Blumberg was Harvard's final scorer of the day, running a 24:57 for ninth overall.

For the win, the men's team was presented with the Main Memorial Trophy, given in memory of Ensign Malcolm Gardner Main, captain of the 1941 Yale cross country team, who was killed in action on Nov. 13, 1942, in the Battle of the Solomon Islands. It is the fourth time in the past five years that Harvard has come away with the award, and 26th overall.  

On the women's side, Harvard ran into two poised teams in Princeton and Yale as the Tigers placed first with 27 points to the Bulldogs' 36 and Harvard's 71. Senior Kaylin Kuzmuk was the strongest runner for the hosts, placing fourth in the meet with a final time of 17:42. Freshman Alaina Alvarez was next across the line for Harvard, taking 14th in 18:03. Classmate Viviana Hanley finished in 17th position with a time of 18:17 and senior captain Kirsten Jorgensen covered the 5K course in 18:25, good for 20th overall. Alaina Murphy was the Harvard women's final scorer, placing 21st with a time of 18:32.

Harvard will take next weekend off and will return to action Sept. 30 at the Paul Short Invite, hosted by Lehigh.